We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
Review of True - CLOSED

True
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cloverdale Road and Graham Street
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

True is nestled in the oldest part of the city being the neighborhood of Old Cloverdale. This is no chain or franchise. The food here is always special and unique. The wait staff are very professional. Like most high end restaurants, the menu is not page after page of choices but limited and tailored to the entrees they are serving that day. Although a bit pricey, my wife and I have always enjoyed any meal we have had there and look forward to going back whenever we can.

One very nice aspect of True is the Sunday morning brunch. I cant begin to describe this, but the chicken biscuit with reduced bacon relish, served on a wooden plate is simply to die for! You wont get anything like this at Chick Filet.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank estreetfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    20
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rennes, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is not a budget restaurant, but we got what we paid for: tasty food prepared with flair; attentive, friendly service; and a relaxing dining environment. It's not too surprising that this restaurant is rated number 1 in Montgomery.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank charles300566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I'm a fan!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was my 2nd visit to True and it did not disappoint! The staff were gracious and accommodating, the atmosphere relaxing and the meal was 'spot-on'! My entree of fried oysters,shrimp, catfish and okra along with perfectly seasoned, tender collard greens and fresh sliced heirloom tomatoes was delicious. Anytime I am in Montgomery, it will be a never-miss stop for me! Thank you Wesley True and team for another perfect meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere. Good, fresh food.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I love this restaurant. It's in a fun, old section of town. The menu changes with the seasons. Staff is friendly and nice. It is our go to place for celebrating occasions.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages FL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We were traveling through Montgomery and checked trip advisor for a restaurant. True was number 1, but we were not pleased. The menu for lunch on your site listed many selections, however their lunch menu had 5 items and 1 was already sold out. The service was mediocre and the food just ok, and it was pricey. I would not go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank elllen1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True also viewed

 
Montgomery, AL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing