We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“POWERFUL!”

Civil Rights Memorial Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Mystery Tour in Montgomery AL
Ranked #2 of 67 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Civil Rights Memorial Center is sponsored by the Southern Poverty Law Center in downtown Montgomery. It includes a great deal of educational information about the Civil Rights Movement, a movie about the movement, and a memorial monument. $2.00 admission is charged.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“POWERFUL!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This place brought me to tears. I could not help but place myself in the shoes of the people who are memorialized here. This museum provides is a very personal experience that shows the TRUE byproduct of HATE. It is not a Black history museum, but as the name says, a Civil Rights Memorial. EVERY AMERICAN should visit this place. It will shine the light on the TRUE demon that haunts this country. HATE. I left this place a better person. My name is on the wall FOREVER as a testament to this powerful place. I took the oath and it changed my life!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Philly-In-Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    58
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I cried all the way through”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Southern Poverty Law Center sponsors this center which offers visitors a chance to see the faces of the everyday people who lost their lives due to ignorance in our country. Many were killed during the beginning of the civil right movement and were all innocent human beings who fell victim to acts of violence. Because I remember most of these incidents as a child, I was particularly moved by the presentation. The granite table designed by Maya Lin is awesome! Another must see in Montgomery, AL

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 59jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moving and informative”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This is the museum the Southern Poverty Law Center put together, and has a memorial by Maya Lin, who designed the Vietnam memorial in D.C. It is small but powerful and definitely worth a visit if you are in Montgomery.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
482 reviews
277 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The museum is small, but full of interesting stories and facts. It is well maintained and the staff is very friendly. They have a 15 minute orientation film. Be prepared to go through security screening upon purchasing your $2 tickets.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank honestrealreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Filled with so much information...a jewel of Montgomery”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

From the time you set foot on the property the experience is great. There's a water monument with important occurences of the civil rights movement and a water wall with a civil right quote. The cost is very nominal to enter (students under a certain age are free). It's not that big but it's filled with soooo much history. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonyaEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Civil Rights Memorial Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing