We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Place where you can appreciate the sacrifice of others” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Civil Rights Memorial Center

Civil Rights Memorial Center
Book In Advance
$19.95*
and up
Mystery Tour in Montgomery AL
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Civil Rights Memorial Center is sponsored by the Southern Poverty Law Center in downtown Montgomery. It includes a great deal of educational information about the Civil Rights Movement, a movie about the movement, and a memorial monument. $2.00 admission is charged.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Place where you can appreciate the sacrifice of others”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Passing through Montgomery for the day and decided to visit. None of the information there was new but I was moved to see a place where people who were martyred would not be forgotten. This is a must see for anyone who needs to know what freedom really means. The museum means explains the significance of why it was made the way it was.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Disnyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    49
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A testament to all civil rights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Must see museum if you want to learn how the African American struggle for civil rights impacted the civil rights of all people. An eye opening tour through history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisaacson140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great! but memorial being repaired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have visited this memorial on two occasions and I have to say its beautiful...This time when I visited it was being repaired so I didn't even get close....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite an Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved everything about this place. The history and the ambiance of the place was great. The staff was very helpful. They recommended several must-see places, which were spot on.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlena357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brought Back Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This museum should be on everyone's list of places to visit if he or she is studying American history. A person I happened to meet on the way to the museum had a friend and classmate who was a victim of the violence that occurred during that time. It is tastefully done so that children can see it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Civil Rights Memorial Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing