We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place hidden away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Oyster Bar

Capitol Oyster Bar
Ranked #16 of 454 Restaurants in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little place hidden away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

One of the few places in Montgomery where you can sit outside. The food is not spectacular, but pretty good. It´s the whole package that makes this place special. Once you spend a balmy evening enjoying live music, the view, some drinks and good food you´ll understand.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Burgermeister2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is not freshly prepared, and most of it is fried.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have always enjoyed going to the Marina, though the decor could use some jazzing up. I will deal with the food to sit out on the deck overlooking the river.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank santat36067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best raw oysters in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just moved to the Old Marina in North Montgomery, sit outside drinking iced tea or beer and wolfing down raw oysters with homemade sauce. It's a greast way to end the day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetumpka AL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bad food and very expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I both ordered the shrimp po-boy, which comes with fries and their special marinated slaw. The po-boy should have been described as a "petite" po-boy as it was no where the size of what you normally think of a po-boy. There were about 4 shrimp on the entire sandwich. The inside of the bread had grill marks, which I guess some would think as being cool, but it was nothing but burn marks and made the whole sandwich taste burned. I wound up just eating my four shrimp. The fries had the spice on the outside, similar to Checkers, but nothing to write home about. Neither of us cared for the slaw. Our total bill for 2 sandwiches and 2 soft drinks was $25. Ridiculous. Will not go back and recommend that you stay away as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heart-of-Dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I visited this restaurant for the first time, on a trip back home to
Montgomery. I was reuniting with several friends from highschool and
it was a great atmosphere for it. We had a large table and the server
did a perfect job. They were very crowded but even service at the bar
was quick and friendly. It was a Saturday night, so there was a long
wait but there were places to sit while waiting. I don't really like
oysters, at least I didn't think so, but my friends talked me into
eating a couple and I would have to say I may change my mind. They
were very good. The only complaint I have is that since I am really focused on
sticking with my Weight Watchers, I picked out my food before I went. I was disappointed when
I ordered a plain baked potato and I got a pile of fries because "they
ran out of potatoes." Also the garden salad was only lettuce and
cheddar cheese. But I am rating the food as very good- to be fair, they are a marina oyster bar and the oysters and my tilapia were delicious.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllieRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing