We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful for Fitzgerald fans!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum
Ranked #9 of 60 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic house honors novelist F. Scott, best known for "The Great Gatsby," and his wife, Zelda, artist and author. The museum operates out of the last surviving home they lived in during their lives together. The structure was saved from demolition in 1986.
Cumming, GA
Level Contributor
251 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful for Fitzgerald fans!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'd just finished Z the novel and was very excited to see the only standing home of Scott and Zelda. Unfortunately, the house has been converted into four apartments, only one of the apartments conrtains the museum, but what a treasure trove they have! Lots of art, pictures, books and artifacts. Also the man who worked there - I so sorry I forgot his name, but he was fantatastic. He knew everything and was full of tidbits, trivia and opinions. Had it not been for the kids, I could have spent the day talking to him!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWarrior0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    48
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
728 reviews
517 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
“My somewhat evasive next door neighbors, Zelda and Scott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

When I found myself in Montgomery for other reasons, I simply had to access another opportunity to get close to a most spirited association formed years ago with two of my immediate neighbors, Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald.

They frequently made extended weekend visits, often otherwise unaccompanied, to the residence of a young railroad magnate in Orange County, New York, an impressive house cum large side yard field located immediately across the street from my living room's picture window. This vantage point was obviously ideal for inappropriate spying, regularly anticipating their walks, monitoring their playful interactions,

There is, however, one tiny caveat to this story. I did start out of the gates by saying our relationship was a "highly spirited" one. That timbered mansion and all its outlying accoutrements, save for a few hints of the parameters for a once elaborate well, were long gone, burned to embers two generations before I ever lived there. Save for a few problems related to unfortunate timing, I like to think they might well have invited us over for a dry martini or two.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank preglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Attended book signing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I attended the book signing of, "Z - A novel of Zelda Fitzgerald". It was well attended. The museum has so many items of the Fitzgerald's.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MaconMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xenaht2000
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The only one in the world!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Take an hour of your day to get a peek into the eclectic lives of the Fitzgeralds...you'll watch a 20-min video about their lives and influences here in MGM and then you'll be able to walk around the few rooms that are open to the public..don't make the same mistake I did and go upstairs expecting to see more of the house--it was converted into 3 apts,so only a quarter of the house is the actual museum part LOL!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank xenaht2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“If your interested in local literary writers, this is the place to go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The museum is only open from 10-2 p.m.. There is plenty parking behind the house. You will be greated by Willie, who is a pleasure to talk with. He is very passionate about the museum. His knowledge about the Fitzgerald's is great. You watch a video and see all the letters written which are interesting, and get to see several of Zelda's paintings. They also have things you can purchase such as tshirts, coffee mugs, tote bags, magnets and postcards.
The admission is only $5. Well worth it!

Helpful?
6 Thank shadowaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing