We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical village!”
Review of Old Alabama Town

Old Alabama Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Mystery Tour in Montgomery AL
Ranked #21 of 67 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: There are no facades or newly constructed buildings here! Our village features completely authentic 19th and early 20th century homes and buildings that have been saved from demolition, carefully restored, and reopened to the public as a history museum. At Old Alabama Town, you will learn how early Americans of all backgrounds lived and worked in Central Alabama.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great historical village!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Old Alabama Town is one of my favorite stops in Montgomery. Some of the buildings actually hold businesses (the pottery shop offers lessons!) and they hold festivals year round. It's also a great place for a photography session, too! The historical accuracy is spot on!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alsabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    54
    14
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fun to see!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We loved all the old buildings and so much history in the downtown area! Lots to see and do! highly recommend taking a drive down there

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cnadiangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Hard to find-Not woth the effort”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

After seeing signs on Hwy. 65 for Old Town, we tried to find it in Montgomery. When we got close and could see part of the area behind a fence, the signs totally disappeared. The parking was almost nonexistent. When we finally found a parking place we started walking for blocks, trying to find where tickets could be bought. We finally went up to one of the houses in Old Town where the gate was open and tried to find somebody who worked there. After calling out in all directions and started to leave, a lady finally answered. We told her we wanted to buy tickets for the Old Town tour. She told us we would have to go back several blocks to buy the tickets and then walk back to begin the tour! At that point we gave up! This attraction is NOT conducive to tourists.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A treasure”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Many of the buildings in this recreated southern town were brought in from elsewhere. It's a trip into another era of the Deep South and reminded us of old Sturbridge Village in MA

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patsy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Down Home Surprise”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

In Montgomery for a short visit with our active duty son, we were wondering what to see on a hot Saturday morning. Recommended by our hotel staff (Drury Inn Suites) was this historic collection of structures, relocated to downtown Montgomery. This recreation village covers a couple of city blocks, easily walked, with ample free parking. From the "smitty" shop to the ladies "boutique" hattery, it was very enjoyable. The southern Dog Trot homes with their open breezeways for natural air conditioning were wonderfully preserved, with hosts to explain and answer questions. The cotton gin is a magnificent asset with placards explaining the amazing process of cotton ginning. We were greeted by a volunteer group of blue grass instrumentalists and vocalists in one the dogtrot breezeways. A wonderful experience followed by a visit to the first Confederate White House, a not to miss place either.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Alabama Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing