We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and enjoyable”
Review of Old Alabama Town

Old Alabama Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Mystery Tour in Montgomery AL
Ranked #21 of 67 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: There are no facades or newly constructed buildings here! Our village features completely authentic 19th and early 20th century homes and buildings that have been saved from demolition, carefully restored, and reopened to the public as a history museum. At Old Alabama Town, you will learn how early Americans of all backgrounds lived and worked in Central Alabama.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting and enjoyable”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We enjoyed the area. At one of the houses a very knowledgeable and interesting man gave a wonderful talk on the history of the house

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alabama67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    55
    14
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Trying but not there yet.”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Since I have lived here for so long, it just seems hohum. One may be impressed if visiting from afar but it's not even close to Charleston or Savanah.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not just for kids”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I visited Alabama Old Town because we had nothing special to do and time to kill. Thinking it was mostly for kids we entered with a blase attitude. However, what we found was interesting for all ages. The recreation of a town of the mid 1880 was a very interesting trip through history and if are in Montgomery very worth your while.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bakfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Friendly and committed staff. Very knowledgeable. Our son age 11 liked it too.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank pancho99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good people”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

they are doing good had talked to staff abt montgomery,it is very interesting to see montgomery growing

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DrShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Alabama Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing