We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

First White House of the Confederacy
Ranked #5 of 67 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1835, this was the home of the Confederacy President, Jefferson Davis.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This offers a self guided tour that is very interesting. But the real attraction is the gentleman who welcomes you at the door and gets you ready for your tour. He reenacts civil war battles and is a wealth of stories and information.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily Harper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    119
    32
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paulden, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Walk by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Since I had my dog with me, we did not actually go in. Looks very nice from the outside. So much to see in a small area. Nice area to walk around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank aznessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Jefferson Davis 1st White House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Very good self guided tour. A DVD is available to watch about the life of Davis. Very informative so allow time to see it. Nice old house and well kept up. One room was being restored but we still could see into it. Many pieces in the house were used by Davis and his wife. The docent was very helpful and answered all our questions. Only four other people were there when we visited. The house is free and there is metered parking right around the corner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“white house confederacy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

loved the tour guides. I love historical homes and this one is nice. They have keep it up very nice and since I haven't been to the south that much I learned some new facts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love the Civil War History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Historical: The First White House served as the home of the only President of the Confederacy; Jefferson Davis, during the spring of 1861. This was Jefferson Davis' home and is dated 1835 and all the furnishings are authentic dating to the 1850's. We tried to tour on June 2, but that happens to be Davis' birthday and is celebrated as a state holiday and everything was closed. We did visit the next day and got some birthday cake. Very good tour with the docents dressed in period costumes. Don't miss if you want to learn about confederate history.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to First White House of the Confederacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing