We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building!”

Alabama State Capitol
Ranked #8 of 67 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1851, the capitol building served as the first capitol for the Confederate States of America.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful building!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building that has some great statues around it. Wasn't sure if I could go inside or not. Not much information out for visitors.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhanson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    95
    33
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“If you have some time to kill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and me where one day in Montgomery and we visited this monument. It's interseting but for us Europeans it wasn't very nice. It's not guided and you must try to find out yourself what everything means. For one houre it's okay. After that go as fast as you can to the Civil Rights memorial Center!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Landmark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lot's of Alabama history in the place. History buffs would probably enjoy a visit. The facility is old, but very well kept.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have been visiting our state capital since the 1950's as children. It is the most beautiful of any state capital we have seen and we have seen about 35 in all. My grandfather painted the inside of the dome in the early 50's, so we have special memories of it.

Helpful?
Thank YMCA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,662 reviews
676 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“A worth while stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Worth seeing both the old old and new capital building. The staff and security personnel very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the way the history was displayed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chipperhigh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alabama State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing