We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells and outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Monroeville
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monroeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Smell of smoke overwhelmingly hit you as you walked into the room of a NON SMOKING room, no elevator the room looked like you were back in the 80'S and the sink and toilet were consistently dripping and running all night long. I booked a suite and it was the most sparsely under decorated room I have ever seen in my life. I was scared not to wear shoes on the carpet it looked like it had never been cleaned.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
2  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Monroeville, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of your room, including the sink and toilet. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and gladly made changes to our reservations when requested. The complimentary breakfast offered many choices. Will stay here again when I am in this area
.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdjdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

What a great place to stay! When we checked in the desk clerk was friendly and courteous. She was very helpful and provided us with information about the complimentary full breakfast as well as registering us for their rewards program. The facilities were newly renovated and very clean. We had a first floor King room. It was very spacious and comfortable. The room was nice, with basic style furnishings. The only negatives were a strong smell of room deodorizer or perfume, the AC was a bit noisy when it would cut on and off, and the water from the tap had an odd taste (which are personal preferences). A nice breakfast was provided.

We had a problem with our door key-card/lock and the front desk attendant this morning was very quick to assist us with the problem. We were very pleased with our accommodations and the southern hospitality provided at this Country Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: As noted in other reviews, this location does not have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxGaCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger334, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Monroeville, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are always willing to help when needed. Please give us a call when you come back to the area. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at 2 other hotels in monroeville, I feel I can honestly say this was the best experience. Friendly staff, updated room, good water pressure in shower (a make or break for us), hot and a good variety for breakfast, Con- no elevator, but was told it would be added soon.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank matpat9499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger334, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Monroeville, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at midnight. It took a full hour to check-in even though there was not a line. We were the only ones checking in. My husband didn't want me to leave a negative review because he felt like it was a one time glitch and an unusual occurrence. However, after check-out had major issues also and took over 20 minutes I decided to leave this review. Very annoyed to have paid $90+ for this room because of all the trouble. The staff was very apologetic, but after the extreme hassle they should have paid us.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank BranchMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger334, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Monroeville, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Country Inn and Suites of Monroeville and the Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group will work diligently to ensure any claim is fully investigated and corrected. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. Please accept our sincere appology for any inconvience this may have caused you and we hope to see you for your travels in the future.
Thank You Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Checked in and noticed the fresh logo and updates in lobby. Nice lady at checkin. Rooms were nice, and cozy but most important, clean. Breakfast in the morning was hot and fresh! Loved the eggs and ham that went with them! Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger334, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Monroeville, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Country Inn & Suites Monroeville, Alabama. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

(I stopped by the America's best value inn next door first.)
this is a basic hotel with a decent breakfast and really nice cookies in the lobby. There is no elevator yet. The first room I had on the second floor smelled like smoke. They are just converting the hotel over now from smoking to non-smoking. When I came to the desk and asked for a different room because I could smell the faint smell of cigarette smoke, they were happy to oblige. The beds, tv, and feeling of security were much better here. Room doors lead to the hallway rather than straight to the outside. There are also not many people here hanging out in the parking lot.
If I have to be in Monroeville again this is a decent choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ern1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger334, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Monroeville, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Ern1206
Thank You for taking the time to give us a comment. I am glad to see that our front desk were quick to change your room for you. We are changing to a nonsmoking hotel to better accommodate our guest. I am glad to see that you felt safe within our facility. Security is very important to us. We hope to serve you again soon.
Managerment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monroeville
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 6 in Monroeville
107 reviews
22.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Evergreen
3.8 mi away
Budget Inn - Monroeville
Budget Inn - Monroeville
#3 of 6 in Monroeville
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 6 in Monroeville
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mockingbird Inn & Suites
Mockingbird Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Monroeville
16 reviews
22.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Evergreen
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Monroeville

Address: 120 Highway 21 S, Monroeville, AL 36460-8092 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Monroeville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Monroeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monroeville
Price Range: $82 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Monroeville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Historic Monroeville, Monroe County is home to the 'To Kill a Mockingbird Museum' as well as other attractions including: the Alabama Writers Conference, the Historic Courthouse, Alabama River, various industries, Alabama Southern College and great shopping at the Vanity Fair Outlet. We are conveniently located at Hwy 84 and 21. The Holiday Inn Express Monroeville Hotel is also the perfect backdrop for relaxation or for business!Our hotel offers 41 spacious guest rooms and our suites , tastefully decorated to meet the needs of the corporate, group and leisure travelers. Two of our spacious suites offers whirlpools for your relaxation. We are Monroeville's newest and finest hotel. We are the only hotel to offer free High Speed DSL or wireless and interior corridors and the areas only 3 Diamond hotel in the AAA rating. In the summer take the heat away and enjoy a cool dip in our outdoor pool. Our staff takes pride in hosting true Southern hospitality with our signature deluxe Continental Breakfast Buffet. Join us daily from 6:00am to 9:30am and enjoy selections of fresh brewed coffee, juices, cereals, danish, bagels, fresh fruits and a hot breakfast for your needs and much more. We also will deliver a newspaper during the week to your room. Visit the other web pages for additional details of the many amenities and services provided that will cater to your needs. We also have a Hot Breakfast. WE DO NOT HAVE AN ELEVATOR, but bell service is FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Holiday Inn Monroeville
Monroeville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing