We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Monroeville, AL
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Inn(Monroeville)
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regency Inn(Monroeville)
$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
Budget Inn - Monroeville(Monroeville)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
68
25
23
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
25
23
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscompared to other hotelsfridge and microwavethe room was niceclean roomsrecommend this hotelfront desk clerkcarlsonhousekeeperalabama
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 143 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here with a baseball team. The hotel was very accomodating. Clean. Loved the microwave and refrigerator in the room. Staff was so nice. Breakfast was wonderful. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor! No elevator!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lvbeach85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Our room was very clean and the fridge and microwave greatly appreciated. Nice little exercise room, along with a very clean and attractive pool area. Breakfast was very nice with good selection. Staff very efficient and extremely kind and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, so no elevator was not an issue.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

No elevator which is a big deal if you travel for business with heavy computer bags ,suitcase ,etc. The place smelled like a cigarette everywhere . This place is in bad need of a remodel!! Yuck

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dkg0492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Monroeville, AL, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Dkg0492,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Nearly all of the Monroeville motels are south of town, near the junction with Hwy 21 and US Highway 84. The Holiday Inn Express is no exception. It's close to the general aviation airport and across the street from a pasture. I've also stayed at (and reviewed) the Best Western nearby and probably liked the Best Western more. I'd say it's a better value and roomier.

With that said, we had no serious complaints. Our room at the HI Express seemed too small for its two queen beds. To give an example: there was a chair jammed into one corner, while the only place to put the small ottoman that clearly goes with the chair had to go in a different corner.

The room itself had a fridge and a microwave, both of which we were happy to have. I thought is was nice that the hotel had a VCR to play movies, but most of us have moved on to DVDs. I liked that they had a ceiling fan, but it was too noisy to use. In other words, the room needs an update. The room itself was generally clean, although the microwave hadn't been completely cleaned out. It wasn't disgusting, just not given attention before our stay. There is a small outdoor pool, but it was closed during our stay.

Breakfast is pretty good and is served 6:30AM-9:30AM. The guest services directory in the room says it runs from 7AM-10AM -- yes, the guide needs an update. They have waffles, biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, sausage, eggs, cereal, etc.

HI Express makes a big deal about its showerhead, and yes, it made for a good shower. The hotel has free DSL internet access too. There was full Mediacom cable TV with about 60 channels -- lots of selection, even if the channel guide wasn't quite accurate. I saw something about HBO but never found it. The lobby was spotless and spacious, and it looked nice.

As for location, the HI Express is about 5 miles south of the center of Monroeville. It's outside of town in a dry county, and there a couple of restaurants nearby including Old Mexico and David's Catfish House. As I said, it's a dry county. You can eat, but they won't serve alcohol (although the city itself is wet). The location is obviously designed for travelers passing through, at the junction of two highways.

The HI Express seems to be the most expensive place to stay in town -- about $100 a night -- and you don't really get anything more for the price. It's a perfectly fine place to stay and you won't be disappointed. But as I've noted, the Best Western is easily as good and roomier... for less money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoingEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

The hotel is okay. The only thing I wanted to relay is that there is no elevator for the second floor. There really aren't many places to stay in Monroeville, so this is about as good as it gets. The room was clean. There was a fridge in the room, with a microwave. But it was just average. If you're going to Monroeville, you won't find anything better.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rj4055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews