We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat like the locals?”

David's Catfish House
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Monroeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Eat like the locals?”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had read about David's before making our trip but we arrived Monday night and David's was closed so we decided to have lunch there on Tuesday! We arrived around noon, just before the wave of locals who obviously think David's is great! We concur! The menu includes more than catfish, so don't let that scare you off! We did have the catfish filets and the sides and can only say Bon Appetit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Southern food served with a smile.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Consistent quality good food.the menu is limited, but that's okay. The new menu additions of low country boil and shrimp with cheese grits both are very good. Nice people, too. Not much atmosphere. The fried catfish is their signature item.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2TravelAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best catfish on Earth!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I liked it so much I went back the next night. I want to return to Alabama simply so I can eat this catfish again. I had the shrimp the next night, it was good, but I was sad I didn't get the catfish again. It was also the first place I was introduced to cheesy grits. (what can I say? I'm a Yankee!) But they were delicious. Cole slaw also delicious, just the right amount of sweet. Someday I will return!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njkrisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Catfish craving? Stop here.”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Catfish (properly fried) turnip greens ( soaking in pot likker) and hush puppies ( crispy on the outside, doughy on the inside.)
PLUS SWEET TEA!
A celestial menu!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gsanders59Louisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylacauga, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ate There Twice!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Had the fried oysters one night and the seafood platter the second night. Don't like the french fries. Love the cheese grits and turnips. Also had the gumbo which was very good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lvbeach85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Catfish House also viewed

 

Been to David's Catfish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing