We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointed”
Review of The Trellis Room

The Trellis Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Trellis Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 677 Restaurants in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Francis
Description: Enjoy a contemporary dining experience featuring seasonal menus that showcase the best local ingredients available to maximize flavor and presentation. Downtown Mobile's only AAA 4 Diamond restaurant.
Baton Rouge
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After reading the reviews for this restaurant; I was excited to dine here. I think I read somewhere that this was the only 4 Diamond restaurant in Mobile. The restaurant itself is gorgeous and the staff is very friendly. However, I was slightly disappointed with the food. Don’t get me wrong, the food was good. However, at these prices, I expected excellent. My husband ordered the rib eye and I had the salmon special. Again, the food was good, but not great. I personally would not dine here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    21
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“High class in all aspects”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I went to the Trellis Room on our anniversary. It is not a cheap restaurant, but it is well worth the price. The wine was great, the food was better. The spring tasters menu is a deal. Choice of two appetizers, three entrees, and two desserts. The She-crab soup was the richest that I have ever eaten and I have tried many. The Salmon entrée was fantastic. Complimentary champagne topped our meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sbamaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I recently Stayed at the Battle House and dined at the Trellis Room. Atmosphere, service and the food were excellent. We felt like royalty!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank banzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Really enjoyed dinner in The Trellis Room. Tried the diver scallops with wild mushroom risotto, sauteed spinach and white truffle oil--outstanding and scallops perfectly prepared. Their crab cake appetizer was also excellent. My sister began with she crab bisque then entree of shrimp pappardelle--both were great. We stayed at the Battle House on a Friday night so the restaurant was really busy but the service was right on target. Very nice ambiance! Will go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Once was enough”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was not impressed. Entire operation felt disjointed; as if either they were all new to their jobs or they were tired of working there. Food, average at best. For the prices charged, you should expect better. My Lobster was severely over cooked, rubbery and tough to chew and my risotto was flavorless and far too al dente for my taste.
My wife's and my salad both had a pre-made "bagged" lettuce flavor and her Herb Roasted Organic Chicken was overcooked and dry. For a $28 piece of chicken, she was not happy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjonchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trellis Room also viewed

 

Been to The Trellis Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing