We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT IMPRESSED!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Vero Beach, FL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOT IMPRESSED!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I traveled to this hotel for a weekend away with my boyfriend and was more than unimpressed upon my arrival. When I arrived to check in, the girl at the front desk was too busy gossiping with another associate to check me in so I stood there annoyed for a few minutes before she finally decided I was worth paying attention to. Strike one. I get to the room and immediately I start sneezing so I decided to check the filters in the air conditioner and found them to be broken and mangled - they were serving no purpose at all. Strike two. I slept fine that night after taking an antihistamine. Went to breakfast which was packed, I don't blame the hotel for this but what I do blame them for is not staffing enough people to keep the area stocked. It's simple, if you are having a busy weekend, have two people work. I'll let this one go though, maybe someone called out sick. We left the hotel to go site seeing all day and had a great time. Had some of the best barbeue I've ever had in my life (The Brick Pit, featured on Man vs. Food on the Food Network)! Got back to the hotel late that evening to find the housekeeper left her cleaning rag on the bathroom vanity!!!!!! I was outraged. I calmly went to the front desk to return the cleaning rag and was met with no apology, no offer to take anything off of my room.. NOTHING! This hotel is in major need of some leadership changes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_heart_travel_772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy K, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear I_heart_travel_772,
I appreciate you taking time to write a review on your experience here at the Fairfield Inn and Suites from your stay in September 2012. I am however concerned that it was 3 months after your visit when you decided to make your comment. As a new General Manager in September, I would have given immediate and urgent attention to the matters that you described. I can certainly assure you that since your last visit, we have done a tremendous amount ot training and changing here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. We are constantly striving to make each and every guest comfortable by providing exceptional service and cleanliness 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We certainly hope that you will return to our property and let us show you that we do provide True Southern Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    38
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
42
34
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel was:
People very nice - front desk people were very helpful with directions to restaurant
Breakfast was good - very well maintained service excellent
Room was clean & well maintained
Bathroom well furnished and clean
I would stay there again
Good value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffigm50, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Mobile. We certainly appreciate the compliments and can assure you that we share these with our Staff on a regular basis. We look forward to serving you again with True Southern Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Room was decent, seemed older with new furnishings and color. I am Marriott rewards member but still got the room right next to the ice machine. Unfortunately it was Friday night and as usual some people don't care how many beers they have but still act the fool in the hallways at 0200. What lesson did I learn? Send just a bit more and hopefully that won't happen again. The room was clean and the breakfast was "ok." If I return to mobile for business I will choose a different hotel. In closing staff was very nice and professional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear73Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffigm50, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment on your recent stay with us. We certainly apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced while our guest. As a Marriott Rewards Member, please make note on your profile a request for "away from ice machine and elevator". As always, if occupancy permits, we try to accommodate all requests form our Guests. We appreciate your business and do hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I've stayed in Mobile a dozen times. I always try to use Marriott for points. Last time I tried the Residence Inn, which was nice, but needed two beds instead of one so chose the Fairfield Inn. The shower in the room was clogged, so filled up quickly when taking a shower. The air stayed on constantly to keep the room cool, but gave the room a damp feeling. The computer in the lobby was broken the entire time so couldn't print my airline tickets. To get to the fitness center you have to pass the pool, which has a strong chemical smell to it. Not bad when swimming maybe, but when running on a treadmill your lungs begin to burn after awhile. Can't be healthy. Everything else was average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffigm50, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced while our Guest. We would also like to let you know that we are in the process of upgrading several areas of the hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my two kids and wife last weekend. We had a wonderful experience. Room was clean and neat. Bathroom looked new. Breakfast was excellent. Front desk was excellent. On Sunday morning (Jul 22), both breakfast area and front desk were handled by one person. I was surprised by her extraordinary ability to do this. She (name:Andr..) was kind, polite and attentive. Despite being busy with these two duties, she was very attentive to our needs such as obtaining directions to Gulf Shores etc. I think special people like her make hotel stays more comfortable. We did not hear any noise from I-65, we had a good night sleep. However, we had some difficulty finding the hotel as the address was not in our GPS (old version). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mytrip100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Hampton Inn and Suites was a nice hotel. It was clean and my interactions with , though brief was pleasant. The location is excellent.

But, and this is a big but because I really wanted some sound sleep. I-65 is outside your window and traffic is heard all night. Looking at the other reviews I do not see any mention of the traffic noise. I am not an especially light sleeper or an especially deep sleeper but I heard traffic all night (Actually, my wife noticed it also). It could have been the weather; no idea but it was noticeable. And once again, maybe it was me or the weather pattern but if you are a light sleeper bring some earplugs. The hotel sits perpendicular to the highway so I do not think it matters where your room is. There is no backside to the hotel. I even checked the window to make sure it was closed tightly. We were on the second floor towards the middle of the hotel. The traffic noise was not unbearable; it reminded me of when I lived in Atlanta for a few years off of I-85 or when I visit family in large cities. It is just noticeable. However, I live in the burbs now and like quiet. So just a heads up those who are not used to traffic background noise. Bring some earplugs. (Come to think of it I had some in my toiletry bag and should have used them!)

Wi-Fi was good. Televisions were high def. Water was warm. Room was clean. No noise from the other rooms. So, there is my sandwich; good - complaint -good.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank davidbaddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Clean, cheap, great bed and sheets/pillows, a nice breakfast, and a lovely little pool/jaccuzi.

Only complaint was that it was VERY hard to find. We drove around for more than 30 minutes. My GPS maps are from 2010, and the roads/area the hotel is in wasn't on there, and since we didn't have the hotels phone number, we had to drive around and ask for directions. (we are europeans travelling in the US with no phone access on this particular day).

Breakfast was good, and staff was friendly.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Soren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffigm50, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for the very kind review, it's nice to know we helped make your trip across the USA a good one. I would like to make a suggestion that I think will help get you to your destination without having problems. When you make your reservation either online or by phone you can go to the Hotel website and print driving directions. The phone number will also be provided so you can call if you have any problems. Again thank you for choosing our hotel on your visit to Mobile and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Mobile
Courtyard Mobile
#29 of 64 in Mobile
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/I-65 at Airport Blvd
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Mobile
TownePlace Suites Mobile
#30 of 64 in Mobile
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Mobile
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Mobile
Residence Inn Mobile
#24 of 64 in Mobile
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile I-65/Airport Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile
Address: 950-A West I-65 Service Road South, Mobile, AL 36609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel with confidence by checking into the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, Mobile, a Mobile hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. With a great location near Interstate 65 and local shopping malls, we are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include an indoor pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. At the Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, you're our #1 priority. We promise you'll be satisfied or we'll make it right. That's our commitment to you. Ask us about The Fairfield 100% Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Mobile Hotel Mobile
Fairfield Mobile
Mobile Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing