We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than some earlier reviews from others” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
kings mountian, nc
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than some earlier reviews from others”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Attended a submarine crew reunion in October of 2013. I studied up on the reviews prior to arrival and was a little apprehensive - some guests had some specific areas they were not happy about and described them in detail. My concern was great enough that I wrote the hotel and received an immediate response from Ashely, who took the time to address each potential concern. I am pleased to say that my worries were groundless and all areas addressed by Ashley were correct as she described. The rooms were clean, quiet, and modern. The hotel did all they could to assure that our group of old submarine sailors were well taken care of. The front desk folks were as nice and helpful as they could be.

There is one area I will downgrade them on - food service - and only for the breakfast buffet. It was a bit high priced at $10 for the selection. As you may know, many other hotels provide breakfast gratis as part of your room fee, or at a very reasonable price. The food was good enough and hot, but nothing special. Beware beware beware though, watch your bill carefully. Like other restaurants I have visited, they charge an automatic 18% gratutity PLUS they leave a blank space for another tip. An unwary customer will 'tip on the tip'. Not too bad, I suppose, but the breakfast staff provided NOTHING in the way of service, other than bringing you your water or coffee. You serve and seat yourself. Eighteen percent was way out of line for service you did not receive, and then they have the intestinal fortitude to add a 'tip' line so that many less than attentive folks would tip even more. I blame the restaurant and hotel management for this lack of oversight. The restaurant staff was civil enough, but compared to the rest of the hotel, they were the least friendly of all encountered. Perhaps they just seemed a bit stiff in comparison to the other employees?

Overall, I would stay again and gladly, but I would have breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xsubmariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    136
    49
    20
    25
See reviews for
106
89
27
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Traveling to New Orleans, we stayed here for the night on a whim. Boy am I glad we chose this location. A great spot downtown with a lovely bar on the top floor. Extra friendly staff who were great at answering questions, giving directions and generally just conversing with us on a quiet night in the hotel. The martini's were a little larger than used to, so three were more than enough. If you're doing Mardi Gras, I can't imagine a better location. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyebrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Brandon,

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us!!! I have passed along your kind words to our team. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked the room for half price and it was completely with full price. Beds were great, Showers was good, bathroom was really small, The AC is industrial power and can cool the room down in seconds. The hotel was great, the pool is very small but nice, the exercise room is insufficient. The sky lounge has an amazing setup and view. The restaurant.... We had the breakfast one time and I was able to perform a drum solo with their waffles because they were so hard, the bacon was old, I would never eat their breakfast again. Other than the restaurant I would recommend it to friends and family.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brucewayne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Second time we stayed here, convenient, clean, good beds, roomy and what a view..on the higher levels.
The breakfast is not realy our taste but hey...walk a few blocks and it is improving.
Perfect one night location to discover more of Mobile.

Room Tip: High floors do well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peng4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ms. Maura and her staff went WAY above and beyond to meet the needs of all of her guests. I'm a flight attendant and I'm in a different hotel every night for three nights a week. I've been in 5 star hotels all the way to one star hotels. I have never been treated with the awesome southern hospitality that was shown to my and my co-worker while we stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown Mobile. The hotel itself is unlike any other Holiday Inn I've stayed at. It's decorated beautifully!! The hotel lobby is very nice and they even have a great snack shop if you have any cravings for frozen snacks/candy/chips/drinks. The breakfast buffet was great with delicious food all for $10. The upstairs bar/lounge area is gorgeous!!! It's decorated so beautifully and has an amazing view. You must check it out! The room I had came with a fridge, microwave, super soft mattress, and an amazing view. It was very quiet---even on a busy weekend!! Ms. Maura treated us to lunch at the sister hotel next door and was even so kind to find us tickets to the music festival for free!! She treated is like royalty and I felt as if I was in her own home as you don't come across genuine people like that in the hospitality industry. If you are staying in Mobile, there is no other place to stay than here. It's unlike any hotel I've ever experienced with a top notch staff. Thanks again Ms. Maura for going out of your way to make sure I felt right at home. I can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crissilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Will definitely stay here again, the staff is very friendly, hotel is clean, and the view from the Sky View Lounge is great! Only visited the lounge 1 night, but enjoyed the view and the bartender (sorry I forgot her name) was great!

Room Tip: Hotel is round, our room looked out over the bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is really as lovely inside as the photos show. The room sizes were huge and wonderful. We got in very late (3 AM) and the entrance was a bit tricky as there are other businesses that share the front area of the hotel. We drove to the side entrance and had an easier time finding which door was for the Holiday Inn. The male clerk was super helpful and cheerful even at that time in the morning. As we arrived so late I asked for a late check-out, which being a Platinum Member is always guaranteed for as late as 2 PM. However, housekeeping didn't bother to check the information and was banging on our door at 11 AM. Couple that with the hip-hop concert going on in the park beginning at 7 AM on a Saturday, we didn't sleep as well as we needed to. Seriously, who thinks that is a great time for a concert? Anyway, that was not the hotel's fault. But I called the front desk as knocking on our door certainly was. I was told that the gal at the front desk got in late that morning and the housekeeping staff had left without getting a print-out of who was checking-out late that day. Honestly, that was lame. I did complain at the front desk and the gal gave me a coupon for 1,000 points. Of course, I lost the dang coupon, but still the hotel itself was very lovely and the staff was at least willing to try and make it right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom2All_Girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.1 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#9 of 64 in Mobile
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Address: 301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing