We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Experience"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
New Orleans, LA
1 review
“"Wonderful Experience"”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in historic downtown mobile close to all restaurants and lounges! We were met by the Vice President Maura Garino who was fantastic!! We asked her about restaurants and cocktail lounges and she offered us to step into her office and informed us about different venues in the area and even went out her way to make a phone call to a friend of hers, who invited us to the Mardi Gras Museam for a fabulous party with VIP Tickets! What a blast we had!!! Maura is a wonderful person and definitely has southern hospitality!! Thanks so much for all you did for us Maura!! We will definitely be back!!! The hotel is very clean and nice! There is also a fantastic Sky View lounge on the 17th floor which makes it an even better experience!! Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbraud1787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    143
    52
    24
    25
See reviews for
115
96
28
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
1,034 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The good news is that the Holiday Inn is clean, relatively inexpensive and has a very friendly staff. The restaurant serves a decent breakfast too. The bad news is that the hotel is tired and dated, charges a parking fee, and the rooms are not well laid out for business travelers(one outlet near the desk does not cut it). On balance, my experience is ok, but this would not be my first(or second) choice for my next trip to Mobile.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mark P,

Thank you for your review. It is pleasant to know our clean hotel and friendly staff exceeded your expectations. I apologize if the condition of the property and rooms were less than satisfactory. Your comments have been documented and will be considered for future upgrades. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridian
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here during our visit for the Monster Jam in July. It was great - within walking distance to both the colliseum and great restuarants downtown. Would defintely stay here again!! The price was comparable. It felt very safe when we were walking with plenty of law enforcement near the hotel on horseback & motorcycles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dswainbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Checking in, we were met by Maura Garino, and she was nothing short of pleasant and Informative to me and my crew.
Lunch buffet next door at the restaurant was FANTASTIC. Easily a bargain at $10 for amazing food.
Location and openness of hotel provide for a great atmosphere.
Pool was perfect.
Thank you to this Holiday Inn for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewBlase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My stay at the hotel was nothing less than fantastic. The front desk was extremely helpful at check-in. We were greated by Ms. Maura Garino in the lobby, and she made us feel right at home. The beds are comfortable and room size is nice. The location is also near a lot of restaurants and bars. The area is very safe. I am an airline employee and stay in hotel beds more than my own at home, and I am glad to say this is one of the best hotels around the US! I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeliDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived early for check in for a school reunion and was met with a smile.
Our room was ready so we checked in. We had a wonderful stay. The ballroom where the reunion was nice, catered food good. Will stay there again whether reunion or just a visit. Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: 5th floor was quite. view faced busy street no noise. enjoyed it. just eat somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psalanon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rented room same as reunion site, good clean room fast check in, convenient parking, had large banquet room rented for 150+ people for 40th high school reunion. Food pretty good for such a large group. Overall good clean hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Ed W.

Thank you so much for your Great Review!!!! I will pass it along to the other departments and to the Chef. We look forward to you staying here with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Address: 301 Government St, Mobile, AL 36602-2608 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing