We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location - great cust service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here during our visit for the Monster Jam in July. It was great - within walking distance to both the colliseum and great restuarants downtown. Would defintely stay here again!! The price was comparable. It felt very safe when we were walking with plenty of law enforcement near the hotel on horseback & motorcycles.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dswainbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 544 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Checking in, we were met by Maura Garino, and she was nothing short of pleasant and Informative to me and my crew.
Lunch buffet next door at the restaurant was FANTASTIC. Easily a bargain at $10 for amazing food.
Location and openness of hotel provide for a great atmosphere.
Pool was perfect.
Thank you to this Holiday Inn for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewBlase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My stay at the hotel was nothing less than fantastic. The front desk was extremely helpful at check-in. We were greated by Ms. Maura Garino in the lobby, and she made us feel right at home. The beds are comfortable and room size is nice. The location is also near a lot of restaurants and bars. The area is very safe. I am an airline employee and stay in hotel beds more than my own at home, and I am glad to say this is one of the best hotels around the US! I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeliDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived early for check in for a school reunion and was met with a smile.
Our room was ready so we checked in. We had a wonderful stay. The ballroom where the reunion was nice, catered food good. Will stay there again whether reunion or just a visit. Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: 5th floor was quite. view faced busy street no noise. enjoyed it. just eat somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psalanon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rented room same as reunion site, good clean room fast check in, convenient parking, had large banquet room rented for 150+ people for 40th high school reunion. Food pretty good for such a large group. Overall good clean hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Ed W.

Thank you so much for your Great Review!!!! I will pass it along to the other departments and to the Chef. We look forward to you staying here with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here many years ago when this was a run-down Sheraton, however the HI has been rennovated and remodeled and is absolutley perfect. Every clerk on the desk was helpful and spoke to me each time I came into the hotel. Rooms are large, and housekeeping was impecible. The only negative thing I could say, is that each day they authorized my credit card for that days stay. No issues with that, but 5 days after check out... the 4 PRE authorizations are still holding in my checking account, and the actual total charge has cleared my account as well. I think once the actual final charge clears, they should release all of the PRE authorizations. Just ties up your checking account for a few extra days. other than that... zero complaints.

Room Tip: Hotel is round... every room has a good view. Mine faced Government Street. The higher the floor, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Essie65,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We work really hard to make sure that every Guest has an Awesome stay. I am very sorry to hear about the issues that you had with you credit card, I have reviewed the proper procedure with the front desk staff to ensure that this issue does not arise again. If there is anything else that we can do for you please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Mobile Downtown for one night during vacation and had a great experience. The rooms are very clean and quite spacious. The pool is also very big for a hotel pool!


We were having some problems with our cell phone provider and had to make a long distance call. The receptionist, Gloria, was extremely helpful and she allowed us to use a phone where we wouldn't have to pay long distance fees. Gloria helped us greatly and she made our experience at both the hotel and Mobile more enjoyable. She is also very knowledgable about the city and restaurants!

Great hotel, pool and staff!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachescanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#8 of 65 in Mobile
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
4.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mobile
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government St, Mobile, AL 36602-2608 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range: $116 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing