We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel,but a couple of problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I visited the Holiday Inn this week,and it was nice.The lobby is nice.The location is okay,but not close enough to any resturants in order to walk. We walked into a spacious King room because that is all that was available.The price tag of $139 was a bit too much in my opinion for the value of what you received.There was no free breakfast. I know that is not normal for a regular Holiday Inn,but after taxes,parking,and everything else my total was $166. Parking is across the street in a parking deck.

The carpet needs to be replaced in the room.It looked many years old and badly worn..even dirty.Besides that the room was spacious,the furniture nicely appointed,and the bathroom was very nice. There was a bar onsite.However,the restaurant that was on site closes too early.

Overall,I will not stay again for the price.If it was much cheaper yes,but not for that expensive price point.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoingtoArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear GoingtoArizona,

I am so sorry that you were not pleased with your stay! I hope you were not misinformed about restaurants in the area, there are several within easy walking distance on Dauphin St. but I am glad you have brought this to my attention, perhaps we can put a listing in our Guest Directory so that nearby restaurants are easier to find. Parking is limited for us due to being right in the middle of downtown Mobile, and I know it is challenging at times for our guests.

If you would, I would love to talk more with you about your stay, and what room you are in so that we might take care of the carpet in the room. I appreciate your bringing all of your challenges to my attention and I hope that you will find the time to contact me. My email address is fom@mobiledowntownhi.com

Michele Morris
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 533 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

The lounge on the 17th floor has an incredible view of Mobile Harbor. The bartender was great; made my wife a custom drink according to her specifications...and lent us 2 pair of binoculars to look at the ships in the harbor! We ordered food from the hotel kitchen, served in the lounge...delicious, and served by a charming waitress who came back up (from kitchen on the ground level, to the 17th floor lounge) with a take out box for us because it was clear we would not finish the meal at that time.
The check in staff was wonderful. All the staff members were great. Mobile is an interesting city with several sites to visit.
Any caveats? Well they need more electrical outlets for charging laptops and phones in the room. Maybe more lamps with outlets in the base. The hot water (16th floor) takes a little while to get hot, but when it finally warms up it is fine. Start the water for your shower while still drinking your coffee, it takes a few minutes.
We will be back. We enjoyed the stay and the surrounding area is much better than an out of the city Interstate Highway site.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WXinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear WXinDC,

Thank you so much on your wonderful comments about our lounge and staff! We look forward to you visiting us again.

We appreciate you bringing to our attention the need for more plugs. We are working on this now. In today's life, we all have so many electronics, we know this is a very important detail to our guests and we strive to please.

I am going to have maintenance check on the status of the hot water on the 16th floor. And again, thank you for letting us know how well we did and how we can improve.

Sincerely,

Michele Morris
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

An excellent weekend to remember. My family stayed in town for an event where we were treated like royalty. The food, customer service, and hospitality of the hotel was beyond excellent. Thank you for an outstanding weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmartin702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear dmartin702,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property and staff. We strive to please our guests, and a comment like this lets us know that we have succeeded! We look forward to you visiting us again very soon!!

Michele Morris
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a very nice room on the 11th floor overlooking the old town and the bay. The room was large, bathroom nicely appointed, fridge and microwave in room. The hotel boasts a "Skyview" lounge on the 17th floor, which was very disappointing. There was supposed to be a jazz group playing. There wasn't. Instead there was LOUD classic rock and cigarette smoke. Yes, the views are wonderful from up here, but $8 for a glass of house wine? Restaurant in lobby was very nice and had a great breakfast. We were there on a Sunday night and Mobile rolls up the sidewalks so there wasn't a lot of "night life." Had a great meal overlooking the bay at Ed's Fish shack.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Rita S,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and thank you for voicing your concerns about the Skyview Lounge. We are truly sorry that you were disappointed in not having the Jazz band as predicted. They do play twice a month and are greatly enjoyed by all our guests. We hope that you will be back to visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My feet turned black the night I walked barefoot around the hotel room before learning it's best to wear your slippers in this hotel. The rooms are spacious, the TV nice, plenty of room, comfy beds... BUT... The bathtub fills to the top with water while you take a shower and the water pressure is so strong it leaves your skin bright red. We found ourselves choosing not to shower every day just to avoid the pain. There's no free breakfast. But the rooms are spacious and there's a nightclub on the top floor with a cop working to protect you. Strange. The police presence in Mobile just made me feel nervous, left me constantly wondering what the crime might be like in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photographer1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Photographer1976,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I am happy to know you like our spacious rooms and comfortable beds. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced caused by the condition of the floor, bathroom facility, breakfast policy and club atmosphere. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed just 1 day in this hotel and I have to confirm that the building looks great, breakfast is nice and service too. The only big downside was the smelly floor where we stayed - it looked like they have some mold there or water in the carpet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Tomas V,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. It is great to know you were satisfied with the condition of our hotel as well as the breakfast and the service you received. We regret the issues you had with the cleanliness of the carpet. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is very nice, and the location is quite good. The woman at the front desk was a bit "pinched" and exuded a hint of self-appointed superiority. When we asked to change our room type, she hastily and condescendingly informed us that it was a very busy time causing the entire hotel to be booked. Over the course of our stay, however, it became quite obvious that business was actually rather slow. Other than that, we were quite pleased. The rooms were large and comfortable, and there's a bar on the top floor with a fantastic view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#5 of 64 in Mobile
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government St, Mobile, AL 36602-2608 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range: $99 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing