We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for Mardi Gras on that Saturday and Sunday before Fat Tuesday. Check-in was at 3pm, our stay was reserved in advance and already paid for. We arrived around 3:30pm and were told no rooms were available and to check back in 30-45min. I checked back in 30 min and was told no rooms were available and to check back in another 30-45 min. After speaking with many other customers in the lobby who had only a 10 min wait my husband, understandably upset, went to inquire at the front desk. We finally had a room at 5:30pm. We understand that it was a very busy time for the hotel, but seeing as this event happens every year it is expected the hotel be properly staffed to avoid having to wait two hours for a room in the category in which we booked to be cleaned. When we arrived in the room there was a burnt odor. The microwave was not cleaned and smelled like something was burned in it. Whenever we used the microwave that smell filled the room. Someone came to clean the microwave, but that didn't help the smell. I asked a woman at the front desk if there was something that could be done about the smell and she suggested Clorox Wipes or that eventually the smell would dissipate, which it did not during the time were there. The room and hotel were nice, but not very modern. The carpet quality was poor and it was dirty. The dirt was not visible because of the color and pattern of the carpet. If we walked barefoot on the carpet we had actual dirt on the bottom of our feet, which was not tracked in by us because it is my expectation that shoes be removed at the door. The ceilings in the bathroom area were very low. The toilet and bathtub were in a very room separate from the sink. I had to either still be in the tub or hug the toilet to open the door to get out. We received a credit for free breakfast which we used the following morning. I and my children had the breakfast buffet which was not very good and there was hair in the hash browns. My husband ordered a skillet which was made of the same items from the buffet. We did have some positive experiences. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is in a central location. The Parade Route A goes past the hotel on three different sides and its very close to where the parade begins/ends. That being said, I could hear a great deal of noise into the late night hours because of the location and one of the hotels across the street played music on the large outdoor speakers until at least 10pm each night. Not the best if you have little ones. The beds were the most comfortable I slept in during our trip. Overall, I would rate my experience as fair. I'm not sure if we would stay there again, but I would recommend it to someone who wants to be right in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBlueChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear SueBlueChic,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to know that you find our beds comfortable and our staff nice. Our staff members are truly the heart of the hotel and we are glad it's being appreciated by our guests. On the other hand, please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience the cleanliness of the room and noise may have caused. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Again, thank you for your feedback and patronage.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    137
    49
    20
    25
See reviews for
108
89
27
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

As a crew member of Carnival Triumph, I stayed here once our ship reached Mobile. the staff of the Holiday Inn welcomed us with open arms. They went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel welcome and good after the experience that we had. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. The staff was amazing. The bar on the top floor has a pleasant atmosphere and a great view of the city (although I am not a fan of the smoking). It was an overall great experience but there were limited food options. Breakfast was expensive and you did not get a lot for your money. The hotel does not have room service and everything in Mobile closes early. I went to try to find some place to eat at 10pm and there were only bars (no food) open at that time.

Overall, I enjoyed myself and the Hotel Staff was incredible!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalllya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

As a crew member on the Carnival Triumph I had the privilege of staying here when our ship reached Mobile, Alabama. The manager Mauro Garino has gone above and beyond to make us feel at home, she has been more than fabulous and I can't give thanks enough for the hospitality we have received from the staff of the hotel. The food is wonderful, location is next to all the main areas, the hotel itself is lovely with spacious beds and all the mod cons you would ever need in a hotel room. The bar on the top floor has amazing views of the city and is trendy and comfortable to relax in. This hotel is the best hotel I have ever stayed in and the friendly staff can't do enough to ensure your comfort and happiness. I will be back and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who has the privilege of being able to stay here. Thanks again to the fabulous staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed there Feb 9 thru 11 2013, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday of Joe Cain Day weekend during Mardi Gras.
We had reserved the Club/Board Room on the 17th floor for a Joe Cain parading organization gathering and the attached guest room for ourselves. Upon arriving, someone had already been assigned to the attached guest room we reserved, but the problem was taken care of immediately by the ladies at the front desk. A big thank you to Lindsey and Erin for their kindness and professionalism in handling that situation.
Prior to the parade, the ladies in the parading organization began to arrive, portable clothes racks had been provided for hanging up of their parade outfits, ice was brought to the room for the soon to follow party, the ladies were all happy and impressed by the courtesy shown by the hotel staff. Just prior to parade time the ladies all came down to the 2nd level balcony for their pre-parade costume picture session, then proceeded to the parade route. Just as the Joe Cain Day parade began, the forecasted rain began to fall, the ladies in the parading group walk the parade route, and were sure to be soaked by the time they returned. We requested that additional towels be brought to the Club Room. This task was taken care of by Angela in Sales and Jeff in Operations. The ladies in the group wish to give a big salute to them for providing this service.
As for the rooms, our guest room was clean and comfortable, and the Club Room was neat, orderly and well prepared. We look forward to returning to the Holiday Inn again next year for the Joe Cain Day weekend.
Once again to Lindsey, Erin, Angela, and Jeff, thanks for a GREAT JOB.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GST521110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The GM Lindsay and the staff could not have been more accommodating! Spacious clean rooms, restaurant and loung both have a great staff!

Housekeeping and the front desk took care of our every need!


We will definitely return to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsmithpsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here on Sunday Feb 3 for a Mardi Gras ball. We actually booked here last minute after a horrible stay at another hotel across the street. The rooms were very large. Beds were SO comfortable! Room had mini fridge & microwave. We had a great view of Government street to watch the parade. Had no problems with outside noise (which is always a problem during Mardi Gras) Will definitely stay here again for Mardi Gras!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The staff was the nicest, friendliest ever. The rooms had refridgerator and microwave. Plenty of TV channels. Beautiful lobby. Mauro Garino introduced herself - she was great and took good care of us. We arrived after parade and the streets had already been cleaned. Try the bread pudding in the restaraunt - its the best,plus I even got to meet the cheif who preparred it.
J.B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#9 of 64 in Mobile
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#5 of 64 in Mobile
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Address: 301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing