We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on Saturday night October 27, 2012. We live in Mobile but wanted to have a night on the town and not have to drive home late. The best thing about this hotel is the view. Beautiful view of Mobile Bay and the river. Large picture window in each room. The rooms are very large and it is very close to downtown. The lounge up on the top floor is very nice and they even had a costume party the night we were there. The clerk at check in was very nice and helpful. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were just throw type pillows. I don't know why guests can't have full pillows. That might be the trend but they were not comfortable at all. To get hot water we had to let it run a full five minutes before the water got hot enough to shower or shave. There is not a separate closet you had to hang clothes in the bathroom. There also was not a suitcase rack to put a suitcase on. The television reception for local stations (the major networks) was horrible, so snowy that it was unwatchable. Cable channels were fine. Would I stay here again, probably, but only if there isn't a room availabe at another upscale downtown hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the bay, the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utmsu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 533 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great Location in historical Mobile with a very comfortable rest. Incredible city & bay view from the top floor lounge - must see at sunset. Great staff, spacious rooms, and a good night rest will have me staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khanf15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

First, I would like to thank all the wonderful staff at the Holiday Inn Downtown Mobile Historic District for their professionalism. I am from Mobile but live out of state and needed a downtown location for our wedding guest who traveled from various states to stay. Maura and the hotel staff were friendly, helpful and encouraging to our wedding guest. I highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is convenient for touring downtown Mobile. The beds sleep very comfortably and all of our guest had nothing but great things to say. The Skyview Lounge is elegant and romantic. Very beautiful hotel. Will recommend to anyone traveling to Mobile, AL.

Room Tip: Stay at this hotel and you will not go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Location is right downtown. This is an older facility and somewhat dated, but some recent remodels and perhaps some excellent maintenance staff seem to make the difference. The room was a very nice king with a "knock out view". Bath was a bit tight, but I made it work. Went up to the penthouse lounge for a couple drinks and enjoyed the view of Mobile Bay and saw most of downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaded-Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ah Mobile Alabama.... A historic town with an obvious eye on keeping to the "look" of old times.... Yet hidden right on the main street was the Holiday Inn.... Now please understand I've stayed in a plethora of hotels over the past few years from dives to some high class places. This hotel sits on the high end of the spectrum.

For background I was announcing a tournament at the Mobile Civic Center (a mere block and a half away) so this hotel was perfect for our needs.

This is a "round" Holiday Inn which for the uninitiated means the room isn't all squared off... their are a limited number of rooms per floor and when you exit the elevator it does not matter which way you go because you will end up at your room...

So onto details... As that's why you're reading this.

1. Parking: There is a parking garage across a side street that is easily accessed. You do pay for parking but it's worth it. There are security cameras which is a plus.

2. Lobby: Beautifully decorated with a fireplace prominent along one wall. Also a nice sitting area to unwind and read.

3. Check in: Fast and efficient. (Oh quick side note- There is a sundries shop next to the counter with a little bit of everything for the seasoned traveler including toiletries and food stuffs).

4. Elevators: Easily accessed and they were fast.

5. The ROOM: Nice crown molding along the ceilings. Comfortable beds with 2 sets of pillows on each bed with a cute wrap. One set said "soft" the other "firm" so you could choose the type of pillows you prefer.

6. The view: Not much to say on this. We were on the 10th floor on the East side so we saw the parking garage and a little bit of the city. It was ok.

7. Maid service: They kept the room immaculate.

8. Pool. There is one though we didn't have time to enjoy it.

9. Other: There is a bar named Skyview Lounge on the top floor. The view from there was spectacular.

10. Room service: They have it though we didn't use it. However I would note they have a breakfast delivery service from their restaurant.

11. Restaurant: There is one just off the lobby with a good buffet breakfast on most days.

Anyway I liked it. My wife LOVED it and we're going back in December for another stay.....

Safe travels!

Room Tip: Ask for a street side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItShowtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel if you will be staying in Mobile. It is conveniently located and the staff are great. I love rooms with microwaves and refrigerators when I travel and the bed was super comfortable. I had a great view from my room and am heading to the Skyview Lounge for some dinner and to check out the view of Mobile bay. There is an amazing lunch buffet across the street in the "sister" hotel The Admiral Semmes hotel with all homemade food and family recipes that will make you drool!! Can't wait to come back next time I am in town!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is one of the best Holiday Inn hotels that I have stayed in. The staff is tops, the restaurant had good food and is nicely appointed. Although it is an old hotel it has recently been refurbished. Great place to stay

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank HKonowitz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#6 of 64 in Mobile
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government St, Mobile, AL 36602-2608 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range: $100 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing