We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is gr8! Gr8 food Gr8 staff and gr8 environment I loved it. Had a big boxing event and all the fighters stay at this hotel and everyone enjoyed themselves and it was very close to where our venue was so that made it very convenient for us!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deontay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 544 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

Originally we had advanced booked two nights, but we had to change our plans and the hotel was very helpful and forthcoming. The room is ok. I'm not sure if all the rooms have been updated, but for one night stay it was fine.

The bathroom and shower was clean, although there isn't much room when the bathub/shower and toilet are in the same small room.

I can't rate the value of the hotel that high (I'm guessing you are paying mostly for the location), because breakfast isn't included and the $10 or 15 breakfast "buffet" was mostly empty and the staff were really busy and under-manned, so they had a hard time filling the few options there up.

There was a family reunion during our stay, so all the parking spaces around the hotel was taken. Fortunately the hotel owns some of the parking house next to it, so you can park there for free.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We picked a room on level 3, which is where the pool is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank L0cutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you want to check out historic Mobile, this is a great hotel that is convenient to restaurant, bars and historic sites. The lobby is large and spacious, as are the rooms which have been updated, so decor is nice. The windows are also large so there is a decent view from the rooms. There is also free internet which is also a plus. I have heard that during Mardis Gras this is also a central location for a lot of the activities occurring during that time. Easily would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good food nearby within walking distance. But if your feeling lazy the hotel restaurant had very good gumbo that was reasonably priced. Good location down town. Clean rooms and friendly staff. No complaints on this visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenwdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The location of the hotel in downtown is perfect along with the southern charm and hospitality. There is no shortage of places to go within easy walking distance. The tower style building offers spacious rooms that don't make you feel cooped up like most hotel rooms do, and there was a refrigerator and microwave in the room which always scores bonus points with me. The staff was courteous and helpful, and even the VP of the hotel took a personal interest to see to it that we were genuinely welcomed with hospitality and casual conversation. I will look forward to coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great location got this property off Hotwire great !!! price. Reviews are correct, great checkin staff and service "real Southenr Hospitality" Especially Sandra .....

The hotel is circular and therefore the rooms are curved making for spaciousness and great views if you request a higher floor.

Restaurent only average and this is why it gets only 4 rather than 5. I believe it is contracted out.

Beds are comortable, free wifi and we got free parking as we are Priority Priv members along with a goodie bag which contained water and nibbles etc. Bathrooms are small with the toilet in the same room but the makeup room and wash basin are in a separate room and this is spacious.

Location is excellent to town and major highways. Mobile is a lovely place to visit we were there for work we found it very easy to drive around and visit lots of places in between working etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chessybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel was in a perfect location. It was within walking distance of several attractions and Mobile Bay! There is a snazzy lounge on the 17th floor. It was smoky, but very posh. It even had a dance floor and a DJ. Our room was comfortable and clean. There is parking on site and a parking garage right across, if the lot gets full. I highly recommend this hotel. I was very pleased.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank retro_librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#8 of 65 in Mobile
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
4.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mobile
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government St, Mobile, AL 36602-2608 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range: $115 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing