We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Holiday Inn-Mobile is one amazing place. It's like being at home. The customer service is beyond approach. Talk about southern hospitality at its best!!! Great location, clean rooms and great restaurants nearby makes this hotel the best place to stay in Mobile.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    143
    52
    24
    25
See reviews for
115
96
28
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Humble, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is not your typical Holiday Inn. Totally renovated, just walking in the door is amazing. Rooms are large, great views, bed is perfect; after a long day of working, this is a dream. The staff is friendly and follow through with requests with a smile. As airline crew, we were met at the airport without having to call or wait, snack and drink provided and keys in the van. Lots to do. A definite choice for a future vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stay here for business last week and had and overall great experience. Not like your normal holiday inn. The beds were comfy, just 2 blocks from tons of great local restaurants and bars. Sky lounge at the 17th floor gives you a great view of the city too. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Memmylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I'm a flight attendant so I stay at many different hotels and I must say this one is by far one of the best hotels my company has us staying at. The hotel is nice, great location, really soft beds, and an excellent hotel staff. My stay here was beyond enjoyable. On the 17th floor of the hotel is the "Sky Lounge" resturant where you have a beautiful view of the Mobile Bay. I recommend ordering the Rib Eye Steak! It was superb! Kudos to the chief! :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beautyN0beast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I'm an airline pilot and spend 50% of my life in hotels. I have to commend the Holiday Inn Mobile for going above and beyond. They were very attentive to every detail (such as when I was going for a walk on a rain showery day giving me an umbrella, or when I came back from a run giving me a chilled water bottle). The hotel was clean. My room was large and had a very comfortable bed. The staff was friendly. Everybody worked hard to promote a very positive image of Mobile and I must say it worked! I hope I have the opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heikki_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was recently in charge of a bi-annual submarine veterans reunion. From the very beginning, the hotel staff was very helpful for planning the events. The participants were from all over the country and were impressed with the hotel, and the city of Mobile. The staff was very helpful and could not do enough for us. The meals were very good and the banquet got rave reviews. The kitchen staff was very accommodating for all our meals. The downtown location is very good as there are several tourist sites within six blocks walking distance from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. A special thanks go to Maura and John for all their help, making sure things went smoothly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Our daughter got married in Mobile, May 26 and we chose the Holiday Inn to be our home for our out of town guests.We are not from Mobile and over the last year have spent many nights there when we would be in town making wedding plans. It has so many rooms and we wanted all our friends and family to be in one hotel. It is in a great downtown location, so close to great restaurants and activities. We have always had a wonderful room, there isn't one without a spectacular view, and the beds are so comfortable. My husband and I always loved our trips to Moblie and the HI. Maura Garino was a huge help as we began the plans 18 months ago. She knows so much about Mobile, has great ideas and just gave us confidence and lots of help. HI made all of us and our guests feel the Southern hospitality of Mobile. We had a magnificent hospitality room to greet our friends when they drove in and were able to offer them a relaxing atmosphere as they unwound. Family and friends enjoyed the lobby, rooms and the morning buffet on the weekends. The front desk employess were always there to assist us with whatever we needed, especially Kimberly, Heather and one young man who had just started and I have forgotten his name. A manager named John was great too for the wedding weekend. It was a magical weekend for our family and I give Holiday Inn lots of credit for making it so darn comfortable and homey as our daughter wed her best friend! Thank you Holiday Inn.....We will be back to Mobile and will only stay at the Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Address: 301 Government St, Mobile, AL 36602-2608 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing