We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashbury Hotel & Suites
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Rex, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was pleasantly surprise by what I found at this nice hotel. The rooms and facilities are spacious, clean, and quiet. The staff was very nice. I enjoyed the breakfast and dining area. I will come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    19
    13
    26
See reviews for
33
16
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beebe, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a very spacious hotel from the lobby, next to the indoor pool, to our room, but there were a few problems with it that made our stay average. It was very quiet, and we probably would have slept well into the next morning if it had not been for the curtain design. A giant curtain covered all of a giant window, but it did not overlap, creating quite a shaft of light in the morning. Plus, despite the outside light being blocked that night, light poured in from the hallway through a big gap between the door jam and door. We also got a room where only half of the great big TV was working. And in the morning we found a small spider climbing the wall (and my wife woke up with a bite on her arm). Hard to keep the little buggers out though.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and efficient staff. Gave us a welcome upgrade. Great room and facilities - indoor pool 9 althoough did not use this. Disappointed with Mobile - very limite downtown/historic district, with lots of properties empty, presumably the product of the recession.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place was so nice, clean and just a couple blocks from all type of shoppping and restaurants. Mr. Pat at the desk welcomed us in, and recommended Wentel's just down the road for an excellent dinner. Very nice place, comfortable bed and beautiful atrium.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were on a road trip and booked this with a coupon from the tourist info center on the GPS helped us find the hotel, which is on a frontage road along the interstate. The hotel has a really neat glass atrium when you go in, our room clean and well appointed, and they had a full breakfast in a nice dining room. I was very surprised at how neat the hotel was. However, the traffic situation is awful. We tried to go to dinner, and found ourselves on a four lane road bordered by two, two lane frontage roads, very dangerous and confusing. You can get in and out, but you really need to be careful. There were some busses that came in after we got to bed, and we heard them clearly from our first floor outside room. Good value, though, the plusses outweigh the minuses.

Room Tip: Might want to take an upper floor to avoid parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterthegreatmlkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Repeat visitor to Asbury Suites. Gave high ratings due to overall experience. That being said; this hotel is somewhat dated & certainly not a 5 Star hotel. Highly recommend suite if traveling as a family. Basically two rooms combined with one side as spacious living are complete with furniture. Two full baths are a major plus. Rooms are clean & well stocked. If the television is a make or break issue; need to look elsewhere cause these are old. Property has an indoor pool just off lobby; really like fact it is in a spacious area rather than a small confined area. Tennis court also available; deferred maintenance issues but still playable. Breakfast is hot & adequate but by no means spectacular. Staff is helpful & friendly. Location is just off 65 on service Rd off Airport Blvd. About 10-15 minutes from downtown & battleship. If your looking for something fancy you'll be disappointed. On the other hand; if you value comfort at a great price I think you'll be happy with your choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#36 of 64 in Mobile
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Mobile - Airport
2.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mobile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mobile West I-65/Airport Blvd.
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#35 of 64 in Mobile
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbury Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbury Hotel & Suites

Property: Ashbury Hotel & Suites
Address: 600 W I65 Service Rd S, W I-65 Service Road S, Mobile, AL 36608-5907
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashbury Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ashbury Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbury Hotel And Suites
Ashbury Hotel Mobile
Best Western Mobile
Mobile Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing