We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve at the Battle House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“New Years Eve at the Battle House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

We booked into The Battle House for New Years Eve. We had dinner in The Trellis Room and then attended the Moon Pie Over Mobile Ball across the street.

The Lobby entrance is on Royal street and is the remodeled Lobby of the historic Battle House Hotel. The cathedral ceiling and two story Christmas tree were splendid. Everything about the decor and service upon arrival were enchanting.

Our room was in the new tower and is what you expect in a Renaissance hotel. It was spacious and well appointed. All of the staff was delightful.

The room rate was a great value for the experience we received. While a number of reviewers have groused about the cost of internet and valet parking both charges were well within usual and customary rates and the hotel is in a location that does not require either.

The Trellis Room far exceeded my expectations for a Southern Hotel Restaurant. While it was expensive and lacked 5 star execution it was a true joy that added to our overall experience. (see individual review)

The Moon Pie over Mobile. I have never experienced a better fireworks display. The evening was crisp and cool under a glorious full moon. We attended the ball at the Convention Center. We danced and enjoyed the live entertainment. The highlight of our evening was watching the fireworks from the upstairs balcony. Some nights come together to create true magic, New Years Eve at the Battle House was just such an occasion.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClearDayFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    192
    51
    18
    13
See reviews for
167
270
29
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

We spent New Years eve at the Battle House. We stayed because we were attending a special event held at the hotel.

We utilized the spa and had a great experience. The quiet rooms were very relaxing, (need to remember my bathing suit bext time so I can take adavntage of the beautiful tiled hot relaxing tub). My massage was first rate. I cannot say enough good things about the spa and the service. The robes and slippers provided were luxiouious and the attendants were very professional. Luckily I live here so I can take advantage of it whenever I need to. The work out facility was also well done with nice new equipment.

We ate at th Trellis room restaurant. The food and service were top notch. We enjoyed a five course meal. There were plenty of choices for each course and all of the food was really good. Between the six of us we tried everything. We will go and eat there again.

Our room was in the original part of the hotel. the room was very comfortable and roomy. The bath had a separate tub and shower. I realize that it was New Years and our event had the whole hotel booked. There were two problems, one no hot water in the morning and he hallways were noisy. The windows were double paned so there was no street noise but you could hear others in the hall. I also admit that it was the late night revelers that were making most of the noise so it might not be a problem on other occassions. However, the next time I stay I will ask for a corner room just in case.

Overall the hotle and service are excellent, form the front desk to the valet to the restaurtant really wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobilegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan,al.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

We have done alot of traveling in our time and this is the very best hotel we have ever been too. From the ladies at the desk ,to the server at the Trellis,to the valets parking and getting the car(they had a smile each and every time in all the rain ) and to the maids that clean our room you . Everyone had a hello and smile for you each and every time could not ask for any of them to be any nicer!! The room was out of this world. Thank you all for a WONDERFUL STAY!! Betty Easterling Dothan, Al.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerryJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at The Battle House during the Thanksgiving holiday. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, and the service was excellent from start to finish. The front desk staff is always pleasant. The room was spotless. We had a light bulb out in the bathroom. Someone came to change it less than 5 minutes after we called. I was glad to see the Aveda products in the bathroom, since I left my special soap for my sensitive skin at home. I only had time to use the fitness center one morning of my stay. It was incredible. It was so nice to be able to watch TV while I suffered on the treadmill! I enjoyed having breakfast each morning. My only suggestion is that they offer it a little later. It ended at 10am. There were several people rushing in at 9:55. If it ended maybe at 11am, that would be great for those of us that like to sleep in a bit. The bar downstairs is a great place to grab a snack and some drinks if you don't feel like going out. I will definitely return to this hotel, hopefully in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momartin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

My 2nd stay at the Battle House. Beautifully restored and nicely furnished. Lobby just ooze southern sophistication. The rooms are so nicely decorated. Love the spacious bathroom and especially the separate tub and shower. The fitness center and spa are in the office tower next door. The fitness center is huge with top of the line equipment and several TVs and monitors. Looked like a beautiful outdoor swimming pool with no one around to enjoy it! The gourmet restaurant was outstanding. The valet, front desk, room service, and restaurant staff were friendly, professional and very welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocgal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

We regreted that we only stayed one night at this hotel. Our room, which contained a king bed, was very spacious and well-appointed. Since we arrived late in the day, we didn't get to enjoy the ambience of the hotel. We plan to make this our stopover hotel when travelling to FL instead of stopping in Pensacola. Much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank durangodawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCBattleHouse, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2009
Thank you so much for your comments regarding to stay. We are glad that you've chosen to stay with us on your trips to/from FL. We'll see you next time you come through and we're happy to welcome you back!

SCBattleHouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

We have been going to Gulf Shores Alabama for years and usually stop in Biloxi to gamble. Our friends recommended coming in a day early and checking out the hotel and surrounding area instead of going to Biloxi. I have to say that this hotel has the best staffs we have ever seen. Everyone working at the front desk greeted us and gave us their names. Our daughter has ear problems and asked if they had ear plugs so she could swim...within 20 minutes one of the employees greeted our 7 yr old daughter, with earplugs and called her Miss Megan, which she loved. The rooms, bathrooms, pool area and garden terrace are wonderful. We walked to the local bars that evening(we left our daugter in the room with her grandma...no, we are not THAT bad of parents!) and sat on the roof top terrace that evening. The beds are plush with white comfortors and rooms were very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel again and we will definitely be staying there again next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCBattleHouse, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
Dear MelissaRockwall_TX:

Thank you so much for posting such lovely comments about your stay with us! We are happy that you decided to stop in and stay at our hotel. I will post your review for the staff to see, I am so glad Miss Megan felt special. We look forward to your return! Thanks!

SCBattleHouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.3 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#9 of 64 in Mobile
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#6 of 64 in Mobile
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Property: The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Address: 26 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mobile
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#3 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa, one of the premiere hotels in Mobile, Alabama, located downtown in the Central Business District across from the Mobile Convention Center. This downtown hotel in Mobile, AL has been a favorite of entertainment celebrities, sports legends, a president and a king since 1852. The Battle House was thoughtfully resorted to its original grandeur and is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. This legendary AAA Four Diamond Hotel also offers The Trellis Room, Mobile's only Four Diamond Restaurant. The Spa at The Battle House is a 10,000 sq. ft. oasis boasting a full salon, eight treatment rooms, and a Zen-like fire pit in our spectacular, tranquil Quiet Room. Host unforgettable affairs inside the magnificent Crystal Ballroom & marvel at our whispering arches (our acoustical feature). Join us in Mobile's Living Room, located just steps from Mobile's Entertainment District, Gulf Coast Exploreum & Imax, the Carnival Museum, Museum of Mobile & Fort Conde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Battle House, a Renaissance Hotel Mobile
The Battle Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance Mobile
Mobile Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing