We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels anywhere”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm Marriott platinum and travel a lot. I looovvveeeddd this hotel.

This was a very classic hotel that felt like you were in another era.

Rooms nice/beds comfy

Internet worked great.

Consierge attendant was great. Snacks pretty good.

Ate at hotel bar and crab cake salad was delicious, only gripe it was a bit small (although I was probably just too hungry to only order a salad).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahDavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for sending in your feedback about your recent stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I appreciate your comments. I would also like to thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott Brand and for being a Platinum member.

I'm happy to hear that we are one of your favorites. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    203
    53
    18
    15
See reviews for
174
280
29
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and very well kept. If you like high-end hotels, I would highly recommend this one. My family and I stayed for the 4th of July weekend. This is not the best location to spend the 4th. Everything was closed (local businesses), so the local area was like a ghost town. This is not a reflection on the hotel itself. They tried to accommodate by offering activities. The room-awesome. I have very high standards and I was very satisfied. The hotel staff-outstanding. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. Swimming pool and hot tub available on the roof. With a poolside bar ;) Valet parking service is available for a fee. I found this to be very helpful because I wasn't familiar with the area and there appeared to be mostly metered parking. This hotel is a great option for business travelers also. It is also pet friendly. I will definetly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nay743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for spending your 4th of July weekend with the hotel. I am glad your family had a pleasant stay in Mobile.

I have shared your comments with the rest of the team.

We look forward to you visiting the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent the July 4th holidays at the Marriott Battle House Hotel.......

all I can say is absolute perfection.......from the room to the bath to the lounge and including every employee we encountered.....Historic charm.....great rates.....wonderful atmosphere

We will certainly stay here again....

A+++++++++++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for spending your Fourth of July Holiday at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I appreciate your business!

I hope you have the chance to visit the hotel in the future. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you so much for your great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is amazing. The lobby is beautiful and it has great amenities. The gym, spa, pool is large and very well equipped. The location is downtown near everything. We actually extended our stay by one night. We would defiantly consider coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is very large so ask if they have a room near what is important to you (spa, lounge, etc).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbaker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Battle House Hotel & Spa in Mobile. I was excited to see your wonderful comments from your recent stay. I will make sure I share your comments with the entire team!

I hope you have the opportunity to visit the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Everyone was exceedingly friendly and helpful, and made me feel very welcome. Comfortable, well-equipped room, with nice touches like wide range of TV channels, free WiFi, coffee machine, etc. (I was in the old section, not the new tower).
The hotel felt a little humid, but Mobile in late June is like that: with the A/C running, it was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I appreciate your business and for taking the time to send in your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and your stay in Mobile. Yes. It does get pretty humid down south. I apologize if your room and hotel felt a little humid.

I hope you have the opportunity to visit the city and the hotel in the future.

Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was my first time to stay at The Battle House but I admit I had misgivings. My wife had stayed earlier in the week for another reason and was unhappy about a mix up with the rooms she had booked. At the time, she felt nothing was done to show their regret in the situation and considered cancelling our room. But, with a convention in town, there wasn't many other choices so we took a chance. I am so glad we did!

First off, they remembered her from the last trip and was very accommodating. They allowed us to switch a room preference. Then, as an apology for her previous experience, delivered to our room a bottle of chardonnay and a cheese platter along with a handwritten note. Immediately my wife was both impressed and pleased.

We at lunch at Joe Cain's, and it was pleasant. We ate at the bar and then tender was very pleasant. We walked around downtown Mobile (has potential but really needs a commitment to make it an entertainment area) and later enjoyed the cheese and wine on the terrace. That evening, we took cocktails in the Royal Street Tavern (both of these, by the way, are adjacent to the Battle House) and it was a very relaxed, pleasant time.

Personally, if you are staying a weekend in Mobile, I recommend giving the Battle House a try.

Room Tip: The view is better from the modern building than the historic building, but the historic part is clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I am so glad that you and your wife gave the hotel and its staff another try. Again, I apologize for the reservation mix up during your wife's previous stay. We try our best to accomodate all room requests whenever possible and it is not very often that we can not meet our guests needs and requests. I was excited to hear that your stay was most enjoyable this time around. I appreciate your kind words about the hotel and its staff. I will make sure to share your comments with the entire Battle House Hotel Team!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, CT USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Battle House opened in 1908 and has recently been restored and expanded with a modern wing. The original architecture and restoration are gorgeous.  It does have a beautiful ballroom and meeting rooms.  However, most of the rooms and meeting facilities are in the new modern tower.  While the original facility is the epitome of late 19th century architecture, the tower is late twentieth century architecture.  One walks seamlessly between the centuries.  The public spaces in the original are intimate while those in the tower are open and spacious.  Both are beautiful and welcoming.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed with all of the amenities.  Lodgenet big-screen flat-panel TVs featured smartphone control and both HDMI and VGA in for your personal equipment.  We used the HDMI to watch the Apple WWDC.  Setup was as simple as plugging in my iPad.  I had my own HDMI cable but the chief engineer assured me that the hotel could supply cables on request.  The coffee maker is the single-cup simple-to-use one with the great coffee, liquid creamer and plenty of white, pink, yellow, and blue sweeteners.  It goes without saying that the bedding and bath linens were luxurious.  

Simply knowing that this is a Marriott-Rennaisance property tells the frequent traveler much of what he needs to know about the service and services. The staff is well trained and competent.  Knowing that it is in Mobile tells you more.  The service is friendly and personal.  One only had to stop and look around to be approached by a member of the staff and offered assistance.  They then simply took ownership of the issue, whether or not it was in their department. Nothing is too much to ask for.  I am sure there is a limit but I did not find it.  

The Battle House offers a choice of dining from the Trellis Dining Room, The Tavern (with piano and entertainment), to Joe Cain's Cafe.  My favorite was the bar menu in the Tavern but all offered interesting menus well prepared and served.  The menus featured local dishes and seafood.  While all of the Gulf Coast offers great food, Mobile may be the best between Tampa and New Orleans. 

We were there for the 17th three day meeting of 275 people.   Meeting planners, this management is for you.  Food for our receptions, breaks, breakfast and lunches was a cut above most banquet food in menu, quality, presentation and service.  We paraded the management before the conference to standing applause.  The evaluations also gave them high marks.  No such meeting ever goes without a glitch or two.  However, Battle House management had few and addressed them promptly with style and grace.  

The hotel offers prompt valet parking but there is ample public parking in adjacent blocks.  Mobile is a gracious southern city; think Charleston and Savannah.  Taxi service is personal and friendly but on-call only; arrange yours with the doorman in advance.  

This is a beautiful well managed five star property.  While it is the premier hotel in the city, world travelers will find the rates moderate and the value high.

Room Tip: I stayed in the original and saw the Governor's suite. I would ask for rooms in the original th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review of the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I appreciate your feedback and your comments. I hope you have the opportunity to visit the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.3 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
4.7 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#5 of 64 in Mobile
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Property: The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Address: 26 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#3 Family Hotel in Mobile
#3 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa, one of the premiere luxury hotels in Alabama, located in downtown Mobile in the Central Business District, across from the Mobile Convention Center. Our downtown Mobile hotel has been a favorite of entertainment celebrities, sports legends, a president, and a king since 1852. The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa was thoughtfully resorted to its original grandeur and is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. The legendary AAA Four Diamond Hotel also offers The Trellis Room, Mobile's only Four Diamond Restaurant. The Spa at The Battle House is a 10,000 sq. ft. oasis boasting a full salon, eight treatment rooms, and a Zen-like fire pit in our spectacular, tranquil Quiet Room. Host unforgettable affairs inside our magnificent Crystal Ballroom and marvel at our whispering arches (our acoustical feature). Join us in Mobile's Living Room, located just steps from Mobile's Entertainment District, Gulf Coast Exploreum & Imax, the Carnival Museum, Museum of Mobile, and Fort Conde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Battle House, a Renaissance Hotel Mobile
The Battle Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance Mobile
Mobile Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing