We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Romantic Birthday Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Birthday Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We live in Destin, but my parents live in Gulf Shores soooo wanted to drop the kids off and do a quick getaway for the weekend for my birthday. This hotel is a vacation in itself!! We never had to leave the whole weekend. We were warmly greeted by the Valets and check in was a breeze. The lady at checkin informed us of a free comedy show in one of the lounges which sounded really exciting. After checking out the room, which was AMAZING!! We went to the Tavern and had martinis and appetizers. The 99 cent dip is divine and we highly recommend the apple pepper shrimp...so good! We paid a little extra for a King Corner suite, which was located on the 4th floor and had a shared balcony ----although the other room I don't think was rented because it was like a private balcony. The tub was my favorite and had amble room for two adults and was 3 feet deep. The Aveda complementary bath products were really nice. We decided to just spend the whole weekend relaxing and ordered a rooms service a couple of time which was amazing. Will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa.

Happy belated Birthday!! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and had a wonderful Birthday. I hope you will have the opportunity to celebrate with us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    172
    49
    17
    11
See reviews for
151
244
26
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite hotels, noteworthy for its history and charm, in addition to its stellar fitness area and rooftop pool. I had the chance to try their lounge, The Royal Street Tavern on my recent visit. The decor is great - lots of wood, eclectic fixtures - stylish without being pretentious. A nice place to enjoy one of their many bourbons and sample the food. I had their pub chips (excellent) and their wings (also fantastic). I'd put these wings up against anybody's. This place feels like a home away from home which is what a good hotel bar should be.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakemcg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Royal Street Tavern and the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I thank you for your comments and appreciate your business.

Happy Mardi Gras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We always stay here when we visit mobile, AL. The room in the historic section was wonderful and the pool deck exceptional. The location is close to a number of museums, shopping, and other activities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for being a loyal customer of the Battle House Hotel & Spa.

I appreciate your feed back and comments.

We look forward to your return visit!

Happy Mardi Gras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Battle House in Mobile over a long weekend during Mardi Gras. The lobby is gorgeous, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. An employee stopped her work to take my husband and our toddler over to the "whisper arch" on the second floor, where you can whisper to someone across the room and your voice is carried by the arch as though you were speaking to them through a speaker. Very cool! The walls did seem thin, and we heard doors slamming down the hall VERY loudly in our room. I think this might be more of a problem in some hallway rooms, but in our corner room, the bed was far away from the hall, so the noise wasn't as troubling. We could hear our neighbors through the bathroom wall loud and clear, but it didn't bother us much.

Room Tip: The corner king room had a small balcony and was somewhat insulated from the hallway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I am glad you chose the Battle House Hotel & Spa during your Mardi Gras experience. Thank you for your business and kind words. I appreciate your feedback.

Mardi Gras, as you can imagine, is one of the city's busiest times of the year. We have guests from all over the country stay with us and I am so glad that you were one of them.

If you have the chance to visit the hotel in the future, please stop by and say hello! I would love to meet you and thank you for choosing the Battle House Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed for a mere 10 hours. However, the hotel was beautiful and impressive. My room was one of the largest king rooms I've ever experienced and the bathroom was truly luxurious. The staff went out of their way to help me. The use of the business center was essential for my purposes and it was well equipped with computers and a good printer. I would love to stay longer!

Room Tip: I received a free upgrade to a king corner - the view was awesome and the room was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for expressing your great comments about your stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa.
I appreciate the positive feedback and your business.

I hope that the next time you are in Mobile, you will find your way back to the hotel for another visit so you can stay longer and enjoy all that the hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a lot of history behind the building. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. The room had adequate space and the bathroom was great with its large stand up shower and granite fixtures. Again, the view from the window was not great and we didn't think to ask about the view before we were shown to our room. The bell boy was very thorough and got us ice too. The room was clean and a good size, but it missed the "wow" factor that I was expecting after seeing the lobby!! The hotel is nicely located in the downtown area and close to the historic district.

Room Tip: If a view from the window in your room is important, stipulate that when you make reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r0ckinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to post the highlights of your stay while visiting the Battle House Hotel & Spa.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room and that our Valet staff was helpful in taking you to your room and getting you some ice.

If you have the opportunity to visit Mobile in the future, please remember that you are always welcome at the Battle House Hotel & Spa.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Last weekend spent two nights at BH in Mobile. Desk clerk was aware that I was very tired after a long flight, so she booked me on the 8th floor. What a nice place! The room was gigantic and the bathroom had both a glass standup shower and a big tub. The 8th floor in the older part is quieter than lower floors. Had a great time in Mobile- Mardi Gras and Senior Bowl. That town was hopping.

Room Tip: 8th floor is the place to stay in the old part. Very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed a restful night at the Battle House Hotel & Spa.

I appreciate your comments and hope that you will visit the hotel again in the future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mobile
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#8 of 66 in Mobile
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
4.7 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#6 of 66 in Mobile
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Property: The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Address: 26 N Royal St, Mobile, AL 36602-3802
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#3 Business Hotel in Mobile
#3 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa, one of the premiere hotels in Mobile, Alabama, located downtown in the Central Business District across from the Mobile Convention Center. This downtown hotel in Mobile, AL has been a favorite of entertainment celebrities, sports legends, a president and a king since 1852. The Battle House was thoughtfully resorted to its original grandeur and is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. This legendary AAA Four Diamond Hotel also offers The Trellis Room, Mobile's only Four Diamond Restaurant. The Spa at The Battle House is a 10,000 sq. ft. oasis boasting a full salon, eight treatment rooms, and a Zen-like fire pit in our spectacular, tranquil Quiet Room. Host unforgettable affairs inside the magnificent Crystal Ballroom & marvel at our whispering arches (our acoustical feature). Join us in Mobile's Living Room, located just steps from Mobile's Entertainment District, Gulf Coast Exploreum & Imax, the Carnival Museum, Museum of Mobile & Fort Conde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Battle House, a Renaissance Hotel Mobile
The Battle Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance Mobile
Mobile Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing