We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at the Battle House for an anniversary celebration. I had reserved a corner suite in the new portion of the hotel. The room was spacious with a garden tub and it had a shared corner balcony. The downside was that the carpet had several stains and the view from the balcony was of rooftops and parking lots. I had put in a "virtual concierge" request that never made it to the hotel. The staff made up for the error when the concierge returned after hours with the flowers I had requested at no charge. The spa was excellent and our meals at the Trellis restaurant were good, while the restaurant itself was chilly. Our room service was timely and very good. We walked through downtown Mobile and it is definitely rundown with many boarded up businesses. Hopefully the arrival of Airbus will bring back some business to Mobile.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GulfCoastBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 851 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I used some points to stay here for our anniversary and upgraded to a king suite in the historical part of the hotel. We were able to check in early and check out our room before heading to the spa for a couples massages. The entire spa was fantastic, with great customer service and, strangely for a hotel spa, very competitive prices. We enjoyed both the massage and the quiet room.

Our room was large, clean, and tastefully decorated although we had no view from the fourth floor (which was fine, but some people might care).

I highly recommend scheduling a tour of the building with the concierge - she was very knowledgeable and it was interesting to learn the history of the hotel.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texas2011a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We didn't plan to visit Mobile but we ended up in town so we decided to stop in this hotel, just because it was the first one our gps found. We were very impressed by the size and the decor or the lobby, truly amazing! Also the room was pretty big and overall very clean. We had a river view which was nice, even if it is a pretty busy and industrial river. We didn't have the chanche to try any food there so I don't know about their breakfast. They also have a pool we didn't have time to try. The reason why I am not giving 5 out of 5 is because the valet parking staff was pretty rude, while the staff at the reception was lovely and also helped solve a big problem with our bathroom as quickly as they could. Another reason of my 4 out of 5 is that we arrived around 3 pm and there was a tray of leftovers outside a room next to us. When we left, 7 am of day after, the tray was still there and I think that's a shame in such a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaSignoraLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently celebrated our 40th anniversary at the Battle House Hotel. We had stayed in Mobile on our honeymoon in 1972, and wanted a little nostalgia to celebrate. The week before we arrived, the hotel sent me an e-mail asking if there was anything that they could do to make our upcoming stay special. We upgraded to a corner room in the tower that had a wrap-around balcony overlooking the city for just $30. They made dinner reservations for us at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, and prepared an anniversary cake for us. When we arrived, we were given an anniversary card signed by the concierge. The staff went out of their way to make our weekend special, and the beautiful room and wonderful brunch on Sunday morning just topped everything. We have already booked to go back to stay in October for another weekend because of our experience at the Battle House.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor corner room in the tower section. The wrap-around balcony is wonderful with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Battle House is restored to it original granduer in the lobbly. The rooms in the old section are large and very comfortable. The staff was friendly. There are two restaurants and a piano bar available. The food in the Joe Cain Cafe was good and the breakfast in the Trellis Restaurant was on par with other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TryitYoullLikeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've been in suites that were not as nice as this. I was in the new tower that had rooms built to be much like the ones in the part of the building that were recently renovated. Bed was firm but not overly so. Floor space that was unbelievable for the price. Bathroom has a separate shower and a tub. Valet for hanging a suit; a comfortable wing back style chair with an ottoman; another armed chair and an office chair for the desk area. I would have liked a bit more drawer space for us but there are also two nightstands that are good for additional storage space as well. Meeting rooms are well appointed and the banquet halls are fantastic. The staff are attentive and very helpful. The hotel, as mentioned in another review was General Andrew Jacksons Headquarters during the War of 1812.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegreatdentini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

On a whim we took a last-minute trip to Mobile for the weekend and initially chose the Battle House for the historical significance. We also made a point of requesting that we are in the main building and not the tower. Our standard King Room was twice the size of a normal hotel room w/ furnishings that showed obvious attention to detail, nice soft linens on the bed and beautiful carpeting. The bathroom was large w/ a spa-like bathroom, separate shower and tub as well as plenty of soft white spa-like towels. We had room service one night and the food was on time, warm and there were no mistakes with it. The next morning we had a great breakfast buffet with a large variety of quality food.
We also took advantage of their first class spa. The experience was above and beyond anything we could have anticipated. Because it was a last-minute trip we did not schedule our spa services in advance yet the management at the spa went the extra mile to ask their service providers to come in at earlier times so that our various treatments were not spaced out so much during the day. We had a couples massage, mani-pedi, facial and use of the quiet rooms. It was heavenly and we WILL go back.
Attached to the spa is the fitness center and off of the fitness center is the outdoor pool and jacuzzi which is VERY nice. The fitness center is the nicest one I have ever seen dedicated to a hotel. Very clean, large, new equipment...this is not your standard hotel gym with a few pieces of equipment in a room with mirrors on one wall.

Room Tip: If you want a room that is more like a 'modern' hotel room, ask to be in the tower. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 65 in Mobile
484 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#9 of 65 in Mobile
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Address: 26 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mobile
#3 Business Hotel in Mobile
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
Price Range: $177 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa, one of the premiere luxury hotels in Alabama, located in downtown Mobile in the Central Business District, across from the Mobile Convention Center. Our downtown Mobile hotel has been a favorite of entertainment celebrities, sports legends, a president, and a king since 1852. The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa was thoughtfully resorted to its original grandeur and is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. The legendary AAA Four Diamond Hotel also offers The Trellis Room, Mobile's only Four Diamond Restaurant. The Spa at The Battle House is a 10,000 sq. ft. oasis boasting a full salon, eight treatment rooms, and a Zen-like fire pit in our spectacular, tranquil Quiet Room. Host unforgettable affairs inside our magnificent Crystal Ballroom and marvel at our whispering arches (our acoustical feature). Join us in Mobile's Living Room, located just steps from Mobile's Entertainment District, Gulf Coast Exploreum & Imax, the Carnival Museum, Museum of Mobile, and Fort Conde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Battle House, a Renaissance Hotel Mobile
The Battle Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance Mobile
Mobile Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing