We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gracious Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
328 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A Gracious Stay”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Professional and friendly check-in, beautiful lobby (picture time)! We stayed in a "king" room (not a suite) in the "historical" section. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. It had high ceilings, a small refrig, desk area, and comfortable bed. The bathroom was also large and had a separate shower and tub. Everything was very clean. Although the "historical" section was built in 1852, the renovations are totally modern. We checked out the rooftop Garden Terrace, and the rooftop pool, jacuzzi, and tennis areas. Nice, plus interesting views. We enjoyed free coffee in the lobby in the morning-- there are plenty of tables under the lovely dome. The hotel has a "gracious and feel-good" vibe to it. We enjoyed our stay. We were there on a weekend when parking meters do not have to be fed, so we parked close by on the street for free. The area around the hotel felt safe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    203
    53
    18
    15
See reviews for
174
280
29
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed at this property for a conference. The lobby is amazing and is flooded with history. The rooms are very large and well decorated. Hotel Staff are great and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!!! Its in a great location of town also.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boundlesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at the Battle House for my niece's wedding and it was a great experience! Very clean, everybody was extremely nice and helpful! Equal of better that Hotel's that are a lot more expensive! If I am ever in Mobile again, I will stay there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbosold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern US
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Nice hotel with a great atrium (restored). Rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wetravelthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Or company recently held a meeting at the Battle House. Upon first announcement many of our sales staff were asking why Mobile and why this property. We were very pleasantly srprised. The lobby upon entering is grand yet comfortable. The front desk staff was very courteous and professional. While our rooms were not ready yet they checked us in, checked our bags and directed us to where we might have lunch.

My room in the newer tower was well appointed, clean and updated. Wifi in the room was free and worked perfectly. The bathroom had a separate shower stall which I appreciate rather than showering in the typical hotel tub and fighting with the shower curtain. The bed was very comfortable and the desk was big enough for me to spead out my work.

Our group used several different meeting rooms from a small conference room to the larger ballroom. The staff kept our coffee and beverages stocked and the room clean. All the A/V worked fine except wifi in the ballroom was spotty-one online presentation had some major connectivity issues. Meals at the hotel were all very good from the lunch buffets to dinner in the hotel restaurant. Breakfast of a shrimp and crab omlet was excellent. Being used to meetings in many large cities the bar tabs were surprisingly affordable and the bartender, Adam did a great job keeping up with our group's demand. He also added witty and intelligent conversation when bantered with. Music in both Joe Cain's and the Tavern were good and with Mardi Gras next week the daily lead up parades created a very festive atmosphere.

Our group did have a catered event at the USS Alabama. The tour of military hardware and history is great. Again the bar was handled well, the food here was only fair. Another fun part of our trip was a very enjoyable and educational air boat trip on the delta. Our guide was excellent and it is a nice mix of talk about nature and speeding across open water and marsh.

Overall we had a very successful meeting and lots of fun and camraderie in Mobile.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndraDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We have stayed at the Battle House for Mardi Gras the past three years. We love it. Having Joe Cains Pub downstairs is great (they have really good pizza for a pub). The hotel is convenient to the parades and the Civic and Convention Centers. Service is great and rooms are nice.

Room Tip: The tower has the newer rooms, but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchayes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2012

First of all this hotel is Beautiful!!!! Amazing amount of class and culture. Upset about hidden charges. Had to valet + $20 per day, Then they put a hold on an extra $100 on card for "unexpected charges!!" Room stated 159 a night, but really was 225.00 a night!! Would not stay again because of the "unexpected charges" Should of been told about these to start with. We would of still stayed despite the extra money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.3 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
4.7 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#5 of 64 in Mobile
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Property: The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Address: 26 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#3 Family Hotel in Mobile
#3 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa, one of the premiere luxury hotels in Alabama, located in downtown Mobile in the Central Business District, across from the Mobile Convention Center. Our downtown Mobile hotel has been a favorite of entertainment celebrities, sports legends, a president, and a king since 1852. The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa was thoughtfully resorted to its original grandeur and is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. The legendary AAA Four Diamond Hotel also offers The Trellis Room, Mobile's only Four Diamond Restaurant. The Spa at The Battle House is a 10,000 sq. ft. oasis boasting a full salon, eight treatment rooms, and a Zen-like fire pit in our spectacular, tranquil Quiet Room. Host unforgettable affairs inside our magnificent Crystal Ballroom and marvel at our whispering arches (our acoustical feature). Join us in Mobile's Living Room, located just steps from Mobile's Entertainment District, Gulf Coast Exploreum & Imax, the Carnival Museum, Museum of Mobile, and Fort Conde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Battle House, a Renaissance Hotel Mobile
The Battle Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance Mobile
Mobile Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing