We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got the Best Tour”

Mobile Carnival Museum
Ranked #3 of 70 things to do in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum documents Mobile's long affair with the winter carnival.
colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We got the Best Tour”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Really a unique experience of having the Moblie Mardi Gras director show us around. She obviousily has a real passion for the events and brought them to life for us. Don't miss this Museum, you will not forget it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lostcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    92
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mobile Mardi Gras History”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Give a wonderful overview of Mobile Mardi Gras. Fun place to learn and great representation of Mardi Gras.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bran530mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great For Kids and Grown-Ups Alike”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

NOLA is well known for mardi gras, but it's actually Mobile, AL, where it got started. We found that out when we went to the Mobile Carnival Museum. The costume on display is dazzling, literally. We took some funny shots with the props and the floats. There was a room for carnival-related humor. The tour guide was very detailed and gave some free beads to my kids when the tour was over. I got to brush up my French a little. :-)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank jia y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mardi Gras here you come”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Mobile Carnival Museum isn't just a museum, once a month the Mobile Mystery Dinner Theatre does a play there, which is something to behold. It's a catered 3 course dinner with sweett tea, coffee and wine. The show and dinner last about 2 1/2 hours and you have a great time. Before you have dinner you get to visit the museum which is something to see. They have the gowns the queen wears and cloths the King have worn at Mardi Gras, along with their crowns, there are even cloths children wear. To see the outfits up close, there isn't any glass around the exhibits is breathtaking. There are even notes telling you what you are looking at and how much some of the trains weigh. I would recommend this museum to everyone, there is even a great gift shop attached.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank connie391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Mardi Gras history and gorgeous costumes”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We really enjoyed this museum and especially recommend it for anyone who appreciates lavish costumes. Know that you will not see parade floats here, except for a couple of mini-versions (not the real thing).

We started with a short film about how Mardi Gras began in Mobile. Our tour guide, Lee, then greeted us and bestowed some beads upon us before beginning our tour. We saw two mini-versions of parade floats, and the rest of the museum was largely devoted to the lavish costumes worn by Mardi Gras royalty. There are some other historical pieces, such as upscale favors given out at the formal dinners and some old lithographs showing full-color drawings of parade floats.

There are many, many beautiful costumes, with the focal point being the lavish trains. Lee informed us that each train can take up to a year to make, can weigh between 60 and 90 pounds, and is only worn for one Mardi Gras. The designs and elaborate decorations are stunning. There are also childrens' costumes, crowns and scepters, parasols, and videos playing in many of the rooms.

The house itself is also worth admiring, with its old architecture and beautiful chandeliers.

Check out the elevator - the wall panels are a fun mardi-gras print!

This museum was well worth the money, and if you can get a tour guide you will learn even more about the history, the costumes, and the house itself. Lee was a great guide - very knowledgeable!

Plan on at least an hour. Again, if you appreciate one-of-a-kind costumes and all of the talent it takes to create them (sew, bead, sequin, applique, etc.) you will really enjoy this place.

The gift shop has everything from cheap doo-dads to expensive Italian masks, and don't forget the Moon Pies! Ask the staff to direct you to Toomey's Mardi-Gras store about 10 minutes up the road, where you can buy scads of beads in all themes and get even more Moon Pie flavors than the gift shop carries.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mlasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mobile Carnival Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing