We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place!”

Mobile Carnival Museum
Ranked #3 of 70 things to do in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum documents Mobile's long affair with the winter carnival.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
394 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Loved the place!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Coming from elsewhere, I had no idea about the Mobile carvinval and so was intrigued. It is located in a lovely old home with free parking on the side of the museum. Enter through the gift shop which had everything related to carnival and the prices seemed reasonable. We started by watching a video presentation and then were met by a guide who took just the two of us around the museum and explained everything to us and answered all my questions. After the tour we were free to go back and revisit things and to stay as long as we wished. The majority of the museum is filled with the clothing that the Mardi Gras kings and queens wear. Very interesting museum.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    92
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibits!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We enjoyed seeing all the elaborate costumes and gowns from former Kings and Queens of Mardi Gras. I wish there had been guides to tell you more of the story behind the selection of the kings and queens.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank wrandml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Showes the history of Mardi Gras in America. The crowns and robes of Mobile Mardi Gras royalty are a must see.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GST521110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mobile Carnival Museum”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very informative and the costumes are amazing. The operate with volunteers which is actually part of the experience.

Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Learned so much...and that Mobile is where Mardi Gras parades started in the USA!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 63Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mobile Carnival Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing