We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful home.

Very lovely tour of the Richards’ home hosted by a member of the local DAR organization. We were... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Renahouck
via mobile
Italianate house from 1860s with knowledgable docents

We arrived around 1:30 pm. The docent asked if we were pressed for time. We said no. We got a... read more

Reviewed September 21, 2018
Girlmurmuration
,
Memphis, Tennessee
Read all 125 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Mobile
from $15.00
More Info
from $29.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
from $23.87
More Info
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
105
15
1
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
15
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spiced tea wonderful tour period furniture house built decorated for christmas wedding reception wonderful stories open house these ladies gift shop worthwhile stop private tour money well spent richardson homes italianate piano
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Very lovely tour of the Richards’ home hosted by a member of the local DAR organization. We were very impressed by the stories and information provided by our host. We were treated to a wonderful spice tea and cookies at the end of our tour. If you like to see grande older homes of that generation and hear the history of the families that lived there, you’ll enjoy this one.

Thank Renahouck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We arrived around 1:30 pm. The docent asked if we were pressed for time. We said no. We got a delightful tour full of details about the furniture and house. Hearing not only about the Reynolds family that had three generations in the house but also the DAR ladies who worked tirelessly to fill the house with antiques made for a wonderful tour. Then we ended in the gift shop with tea and cookies. Personally I love the tea. I definitely recommend this tour. There are stairs to climb and descend. No suitable for young, energetic children.

1  Thank Girlmurmuration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

I'm a member of a Florida chapter of the DAR and thought I'd stop in for a visit while I was in Mobile visiting my family. I thoroughly enjoyed my tour and was amazed at how well the house was preserved and also how well it was furnished with period pieces. The ladies conducting the tour were very knowledgeable and engaging and I could not have enjoyed myself more! A "must visit" for any member of a DAR chapter.

Thank Miles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

He had a wonderful time looking at all the stuff inside the house. And at the end of the tour the ladies running the tour made us this amazing tea and cookies. I highly recommend going!!!

Thank sonny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila S, Guest Relations Manager at Richards DAR House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

We were so glad to have you come to the Richards Museum and take tea and cookies while visiting with us after the tour. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Attended a wedding reception at this home.

Very nice. Well maintained to the original time period .

Nice indoor and outdoor space for a reception.

Would highly recommend.

Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila S, Guest Relations Manager at Richards DAR House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you! We do enjoy sharing this beautiful Museum home and the grounds for wedding receptions, after rehearsals, corporate parties,anniversaries, bridal showers and luncheons etc. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

This home is fantastic to visit! Our tour guide/host was very kind and knowledgeable about the house. I loved that we could take pictures and sit on the furniture. We really enjoyed the spiced tea and cookies at the end of the tour. Thank you for providing a great educational experience for my girls and I.

Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila S, Guest Relations Manager at Richards DAR House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you for visiting the Richards House, the "Gem of Downtown Mobile" ! So glad you all enjoyed your visit and learned a few things about the history of the family , the house and Mobile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018

We had a wonderful private tour with the volunteers. Tour guides were knowledgeable and interesting. Tour ended with tea and biscuits and a delightful chat with the volunteers.

Thank Chilli09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila S, Guest Relations Manager at Richards DAR House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018

What a lovely review. We're so glad you had a wonderful time and thank you for including the Richards House in your visit to our beautiful, historic city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

Such a wonderful experience! Staff was exceptionally kind and welcoming. Highly recommend, especially for small groups.

Thank danielmV3640MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila S, Guest Relations Manager at Richards DAR House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018

Thank you Daniel for your review. We're so glad you and your group took the time to visit the historic Richards House and enjoy our famous "southern hospitality". Your recommendation is appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

My sister and I enjoyed a very informative tour. The guide made you feel at home and showed many details of the home. She invited us to sit and rest while she discussed the details of the home. We enoyed a cup of tea at the end. It was a very pleasant afternoon.

Thank WendyOue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila S, Public Relations Manager at Richards DAR House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

We're so glad y'all felt right at home and enjoyed some gracious "southern hospitality" during your visit! Thank you for you review and do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

The literature and signs on the building indicated they should have been open, but we not. Workmen said they hadn't seen anybody on that day. Disappointed. Tried to call, no answer

Thank gmleven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila S, Public Relations Manager at Richards DAR House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

We apologize for the inconvenience. Not sure what day you came to visit but we were closed on Easter Sunday and we are closed temporarily on Tuesdays which should be listed on the website. It is suggested that you call before coming in case we are closed for a special event or holiday. We are also disappointed that we missed you and your group and hope that you do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews