We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shrimp and oysters”
Review of Shrimp Basket

Shrimp Basket
Ranked #39 of 672 Restaurants in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Our menu encompasses a great variety of original seafood and local favorites. Ranging from shrimp, fish, crab claws, and crawfish, we also provide po-boys, chicken, and sandwiches for land lovers. Don't forget about our specialty Roasted Red Pepper Bama Sauce over Fettuccine pasta! The goal at the Shrimp Basket is to provide enjoyable, affordable service to each and every one of our guests at whichever restaurant they choose to dine in. This is accomplished by our professional and well-trained staff working together to ensure that your memories are the best that they can be at the Shrimp Basket. It is no surprise that our popularity has magnified among locals and tourists alike as we continue to expand along the Gulf Coast. We are grillin', steamin', and fryin' for you!
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great shrimp and oysters”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had steamed shrimp, oysters on half shell, slaw and sweet tea. Food was delicious, and service was fast. Will definitely go back and recommend it to anyone in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronilynn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great seafood at a great price”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found the perfect quick, casual, inexpensive, southern-style restaurant while visiting Mobile's Tillman Corner area. The exterior of the restaurant is pretty unassuming; looks like a former fast-food joint. A friendly hostess/waitress greeted and seated us. The menu is not huge but it has a good selection. My wife tried the Oyster Po-boy and I the Crawfish Platter. Both of us loved our meals. We shared some and found they were both well-prepared and delicious. The prices were very good overall. The portions were large but the bill wasn't. We will definitely visit here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Master_Caution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Delicious!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Among the sea of fast food sits this gem. Do yourself a favor and try their buffalo shrimp, it totally puts Hooters to shame. In fact, I may never eat the Hooters shrimp again.

This place also has really great raw oysters and a huge menu of grilled, blackened, and fried seafood. We also had hush puppies, new potatoes, and corn on the cob - all delicious.

They serve beer as well (including Yuengling)

Highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AprylDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was the first meal in Mobile after a long drive in. I stopped here because it was close to the hotel. But now that I know about this place, next time I'll be sure to stop in and eat again. I had the blackened catfish which was very good and was served quickly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmask58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Good: Great food, good value for the amount of food, great crawfish, great gumbo. I would eat here again.

Bad: Can't think of anything.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnualTraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Basket also viewed

 

Been to Shrimp Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing