We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rising Star in West Mobile!”

Briquettes Steakhouse
Ranked #26 of 671 Restaurants in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rising Star in West Mobile!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

West Mobile is somewhat of a vast desert in terms of nice, locally-owned sit-down restaurants. While we have a plethora of chains, there is a terrible lack of original places that have any ambience or creativity, and the further West you go, the bigger the problem. This is why Briquettes is such a welcome addition. This is a legit steakhouse ... albeit located in a non-descript shopping center. The interior is comfortably casual, with a hint of being upscale. The real star is the food, especially the steaks, which are big, bold, and flavorful. The sides are also very tasty and inventive. The staff is very friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. A friend from California was stunned at the reasonable prices and stated that the prices were half of what he would pay for a comparable meal in his home state. I've dined here at least 10 times already, and plan to do so again ... often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Proper_Gander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    38
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Doesn't live up to the glowing reviews.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visited Briquettes on a Saturday. The evening started off with the hostess pointing us toward our table instead of walking us to our table. The server asked if we would like to order an appetizer. So we ordered the grilled oysters, but they were out. (At 6:20?) We ordered the evenings special ( Steak Kabob) and the 11 ounce Strip. We evidently timed it right for the special, since we received the last one. Once again running out of an item at 6:20 pm. The food arrived and had a nice presentation. The garlic potatoes along with the caramelized onion and bacon potatoes were tasty. The steaks had a good flavor but lacked in the quality of the meat and tenderness. The strip was very thin, difficult to cut with the dinner knife provided, and lacked any tenderness. It would have been better utilized as a steak sandwich not as a $17 main course. To top it off the restaurant's temperature was very warm. We were not impressed and will not make a second trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manvolt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, good location”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Decided to try this restaurant and had a good first experience. Staff friendly, service good and seating was at capacity. Had Ribeye steak as first choice for Prime Rib was only available in Medium to well cooked. I prefer medium rare on beef. Salad with Caesar dressing good. Bartender made very good Mojito's. Overall a nice steak restaurant for the West side of Mobile. Will try the Lunch menu next.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mobile, al
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great food and place, must try”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Husband picked up some food to-go from here for our anniversary so we can enjoy it at home since I wasnt feeling well enough to go out. we knew it probably wont be as good as dining in and having hot food brought to the table. but we heard such good reviews from several friends we were openminded and gave their takeout a chance. it was a Wednesday night, which at that moment was a night they had a limited special, the steakhouse lasagna. We were able to get the last order and we also ordered a sirloin steak entree with garlic mashed potatoes, onion rings app, and the caesar salad and regular salad. when he got home we opened everything up expecting somewhat soggy rings and a semi-tough steak. but nope, the food all of it was amazing, even the little biscuits that come with it. the steak was still a perfect medium rare and so tender, the lasagna was packed full of braised beef and pork, onion rings still crispy and huge, the onion sauce and the caesar dressing was so good, this caesar dressing is definitely my fav I've ever had, had a kick to it and I love spicy. the flavorful food is worth the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jade1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and i went here for lunch and was impressed with the quality and selection. We both had a shaved prime rib sandwiches one with a house salad and the other with onion rings. Excellent in all respects, taste, quality, and quantity. If you are in the area you should try it. Steaks are the specialty but everything is worth try. They even grind their own meat for their hamburgers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Briquettes Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Briquettes Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing