We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Selection ... Glad We Stopped Here”
Review of Bienville Books

Bienville Books
Ranked #15 of 73 things to do in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Terrific Selection ... Glad We Stopped Here”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We love poking around book stores, and this place is well-worth visiting. We found several interesting books, and the staff were all extremely helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TxTrvlr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Small Independent Book Store”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A small independent book store in the down town area with lots of new and used books. I'm not a huge book guy but it was nice to go to a book store again and they have a lot of books by local authors and about the Mobile Bay area which was cool. They also have lots of signed books if you collect them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Bring your curiosity”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A welcoming place for bibliophiles with two floors full of titles that are sure to hold at least one for you. Enjoy the atmosphere, the helpful staff, and the collectible art that adds ambience to the whole affair.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Used/New Book Store”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The book store is a treasure in the downtown area. It has a wide selection of reasonably priced used books. The book shelves are in perfect order making it easy to locate what you are looking for. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you are a true reader than you must stop in.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I had one of the best moments of my life here. Keeping a long story short, I spied an autographed copy of "Gone with the Wind". When I asked the clerk about the book she offered to show it to me. Holding the same book that once was in the hands of Margaret Mitchell is an experience I will never forget. Wonderful staff who knows their collection. Wide range of selection with authors from the past to present day. I went in with a goal in mind. Completed that goal by leaving and owning a first edition title written by the first American woman author to earn over $100,000 (that would be Augusta Evans Wilson).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bienville Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing