We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tender meat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dick Russell's Bar-b-q

Dick Russell's Bar-b-q
Ranked #14 of 661 Restaurants in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tender meat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We found the meat here tender. That's the best we can say about our visit. The sauce wasn't good, although it also wasn't bad; the meat didn't have a smoked taste, either. Cole slaw was below average but looked right. Service was as expected. Overall, it was mediocre, at best.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dandancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    85
    43
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“delicious biscuits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stopped here for breakfast as we were leaving Mobile. The biscuits were delicious! Our eggs were fresh and cooked to our satisfaction. Bacon was crisp and flavorful. Coffee hot and fresh.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sc00ter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outdated eggs, hairs in biscuits.. This restaurant is way overrated.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

My family and I were very excited to try this restaurant after seeing the billboards... we were very disappointed. we couldn't eat our breakfast bc the eggs were rotten and no one offered us any replacement or refund. We complained twice.... never again! :(

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kriddledum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Better breakfast than dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The breakfast here is what Cracker Barrel aspires to, home cooking with good real country food. Sausage was outstanding. Pancakes are fluffy. One in our party liked the sausage gravy quite a bit, found it smoky & savory.

Dinner the next day was another story. Service, which was spotty and cold at breakfast, was awful. From forgetting silverware to slow drink refills to mixing up orders it was not good.

The food was overcooked almost across the board. Very disappointing experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ICness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“The smoking section is gone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My first visit since the fire! Outstanding service from an experienced group of servers. Seems the restaurant is always crowded. Tradition is respected both on the menu and the décor. No change at all except for the absence of a smoking section. Good Riddance. Had the Rib Eye dinner you can select your sides from a large number of choices. Most of the food is prepared in house! Portions are large enough to keep you full for the rest of the day. On my second visit I had the oyster/shrimp platter. Very good for fried food. Not overdone and the taste of the shrimp and oysters came though. Prices are reasonable and I expect to revisit this place again and again. The biscuits? AWESOME!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DIxiehollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick Russell's Bar-b-q also viewed

 

Been to Dick Russell's Bar-b-q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing