We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best theater in Mobile”
Review of Crescent Theater

Crescent Theater
Ranked #10 of 70 things to do in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best theater in Mobile”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lots of great shows, nice small venue, convenient location in downtown, wine/beer selection, barcaloungers down front! Get there early to snag one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great movie space”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went to see Muscle Shoals, got there about 15 minutes before the start not a lot of seating but my party split up and it was fine, so get there earlier. Instead of previews they had a duo singing to entertain us, it was very well done. Sound system was great. You can purchase wine, beer and popcorn!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyDonV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the afternoon”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We followed up on great reviews about the Crescent Theatre and want to see "Enough Said" on an afternoon while visiting in Mobile. It's a charming place with an equally charming host who does indeed greet all visitors right before the movie begins. Don't be put off by the small lobby because the main theatre is a spacious room with a large screen and stadium seating. And if you're early, you can snag one of the 10 super-comfy leather recliners that line the front row. There's even a box of blankets for those who get a little chilly during the show. Watch out for the popcorn -- tasty but greasy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GoRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Lovely Downtown venue for a movie”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Their upgraded sound and video systems make it a pleasure to view a movie here. The crowd is interested in movies and not talking and texting!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rfrankjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently made a quick weekend getaway to Mobile and stopped by the Crescent to watch Kings of Summer after reading a few of the reviews about the theater here on TripAdvisor. We arrived about 20 minutes before show time and managed to get the comfy recliners at the front. The owner, Max, came up front and gave a few words about upcoming movies/events and told us a bit about the film we were about to see. A very nice, local couple who sat beside us told us about how they had a fundraiser to upgrade the equipment and how the place was on the verge of closing. I'm so glad they're still around! We paid $24 for two tickets and two sodas... good price in my opinion. Max also offers wine and beer and lets you know you're welcome to go grab some during the film and pay at the end of the show. We really enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be back to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jennfair85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crescent Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing