We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give Max a Hand”
Review of Crescent Theater

Crescent Theater
Ranked #10 of 70 things to do in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
260 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Give Max a Hand”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Give Max a hand for keeping a vintage theater in vogue.
Give Max a hand for supporting local talent and giving them a stage.
Give Max a hand for offering more than just the “hyped” movies and letting audiences enjoy some silent movies and some excellent low budget cinema.
Give Max a hand for being on hand to welcome his audience, introduce the movie, and offer comfy chairs – come early if you want front row lounge chair seating, and refreshments that include adult beverages.
Give Max a hand for a clean, safe place to enjoy the evening whatever is showing that night.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved this theater”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were spending the night in downtown Mobile and just happened to stumble on this theater at just the right time to see The Great Gatsby which we wanted to see. We knew as soon as we entered the door that this was "our type of place". The owners (?) welcomed us and made us feel right at home. It was a cozy (and ended up sold out) theater. After returning to the hotel and reading about abou it, we discovered that it would be part of our regular life if we lived here. It mostly shows independent films which are our favorites. We are members of The Enzian in Maitland, Florida and visit it frequently. We also attend as much of the Florida Film Festival as we can. If you live in Mobile, be sure to check it out. If you are visiting and staying downtown, I highly recommend it as an enjoyable way to spend a few hours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Crescent is a gem”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This theater is so cozy. The owner was so friendly, he treated us as though he had known us for years. I saw Silver Linings Playbook there before it had been released nation wide. Before the film, we were presented with a brief talk pertaining to the back ground of the film and the cast and crew. I would recommend the Crescent to any movie lover.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank smanassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not the everyday movie theater”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The atmosphere was great. Adult beverages served, an not the run of the mill movies playing. This is an independant film Theater. A must see place if visiting Mobile if you want to do something not so ordinary.

Helpful?
Thank southernbelle0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware of ginger baker”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Quaint little theatre reminiscent of a time gone by. although it was a documentary we enjoyed watching the mad man known as ginger baker

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lbktarpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crescent Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing