We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable”
Review of Fort Conde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort Conde Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Mobile B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business because I hoped it would be more comfortable than the generic hotel chains. I wasn't disappointed. The room, while small, was pretty, comfortable, and very pleasant (there's a small kitchenette, a coffee maker, and l'Occidental products). Both the service and the food was also exceptional. It was probably one of the best B&B experiences anywhere including much more expensive places in places like Napa/Sonoma.

The inn also is well situated in the small city. It's right by Fort Conde in a charming historic neighborhood and within walking distance to restaurants and the history museum. It's also right by the freeway, making it very convenient to get around in the area.

(I too heard the train, but didn't find it particularly bothersome...)

A couple recommendations:
-- the Royal Scam nearby for dinner is great. The food is nothing fancy but very very solid. The gumbo that I had there was delicious.

-- ask for a room upstairs especially in the coach house if you are sensitive to noise. The structure is made of wood, so if you have noisy neighbors upstairs, the sound of footsteps could be loud.

-- order the eggs benedict for breakfast. the egg is perfectly cooked so it's runny inside, and it comes with a crawfish sauce that is divine

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the upper floor. Even if it costs a little more, it's worth it to not have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ykwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    34
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
175
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was a comment my husband made and it suits. They did call a few days prior to let us know that the room we had reserved was not available due to overbooking. So they said they were putting us in a 3 bedroom cottage on the property. This sounded okay and we said so. Upon arrival they had blocked off the street for a wedding and no one was in the main house to find out where to park. My husband called on his cell phone and the "assistant manager" was waiting in the parking lot around the corner on the other side of the hotel. She later told us she was an intern - which was it? There were indeed 3 large bedrooms - none with attached bath. For the bathroom (only 1 with shower) you have to go out on the screened porch to access. Needless to say - this means you must always be clothed and the door must be shut. Our room was located next to a huge highway system and railroad. The long freight trains run all the time and blow their horn all the time- even at night. Even so, I got a good night's sleep. There was a police car with his lights on stationed outside all night so this made me wonder about crime in the area. If you like funky this might be your place. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The internet worked very well. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Don't get the cottage next to the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Openstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortcondeinn, General Manager at Fort Conde Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for staying with us at Fort Conde Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed our Blakely cottage. We try our best to upgrade our guest that have been overbooked by one of our online booking engines. Unfortunately they are not always correct on the number of rooms that we have available on any given day. The suite you had originally booked was already reserved for the wedding party. Your original room is valued at $279 a night and the upgrade to the Blakely cottage was a $499 booking. We are very sorry that you did not find this to your liking. All of our homes in Fort Conde Village are very old and we tried our best to keep them in their original condition during the restoration process. Being that homes back in the 1800’s would not have had indoor restroom facilities we had to design around that and take the original back porches and add on so that yes you are able to have bathrooms and a kitchen area. Although the bathrooms are not attached to the bedrooms they are very private. We are sorry that no one told you during check in that those massive shades on each of the very large windows that allow so much natural light in the back area of the home actually do black everything out when closed and do not allow anyone to see in so if you do decide to walk around in the nude you can without being seen from the outside. We are also happy that you were able to get a goodnights sleep. Even though the cottages are located near the train tracks our owner lived in that cottage for a few years during the initial restoration phase and purposely installed 3 sets of windows on each cottage so that the noise is kept to a very minimum and our guests are not bothered by the nearby trains or freeway. Each cottage is equipped with its own high-speed Internet system and we are pleased to know that it worked well for you. Lastly, the police car that was parked near your building at the end of the street was there for the simple reason of the event that was happening during your check in with us and through out that evening. The city requires us to apply and receive a street permit for events that happen in the village where we may have to block off a street to place a tent for an event. The officer was there to make sure no one plowed through the tented area and hurt some of the guests underneath the tented areas. Since we are downtown we can understand your concern of crime but Fort Conde Inn and Village is located right off the beaten path and we have very little of that in this area. Most people are not even aware that we are back here actually. Thank you again for staying at Fort Conde Inn and we are glad that you liked the décor and cleanliness of our rooms. We hope to see you again soon and wish you well on all of your future travel endeavors.

Kind Regards,

Alan Waugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I traveled from Nashville and spent our first night at the Fort Conde Inn before continuing on to Destin, Fl. We were celebrating our 5th anniversary and they did well to make it a memorable one! The property (inside and out) very much embodies the deep south's rich historical heritage and charm! Before or during your stay here you must take time to appreciate the daunting task it was to restore this establishment. The rooms are extravagantly decorated and the architectural finishes take it back to its former glory. The property seems to have a variety of accommodations that would suit many needs. We splurged by staying in the Royal King Suite and it was worth every penny! Tasty breakfast, thanks Robbie (see pictures)! We look forward to returning, staying longer, and bringing friends!

Room Tip: The Inn is located in downtown Mobile near a major interstate. Keep in mind, these buildings that no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5centsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Love this southern charmed retreat! Outstanding attention to detail! Excellent service from the staff. This is a hidden jewel and though I was there for business, still a very relaxing getaway. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay and have a wedding. We rented the inn and cottages for the weekend and it was great.
Breakfast was included each morning and it was good.
The courtyard and old iron work looked beautiful.
Easy parking and plenty of rooms for are guest.
Thanks to the staff and all who made this a great event.
Father of the bride.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

It was just wonderful! We stayed for one night as we passed through Alabama on our way to Texas. The in is lovely. We stayed in the Blakely cottage which was amazing. The rooms are vastly huge, and the beds are the most comfortable I've ever stayed in. The cottage included two large bathrooms (large is an understatement.). Wonderful lemon verbena bath products and pretty wall paper. The house is old, but never felt dated or musty, everything is fresh and clean. Breakfast was fantastic, banana fosters french toast, berry pancakes, or omlettes. Keruig in our room, fresh fruit and homemade jams for breakfast. Yes, it's downtown so the neighborhood was a collection of urban vibes, but I always felt safe. We walked to dinner and really enjoyed the staff recomendation (the Royal Scam.) Our cottage was closest to the interstate but we couldnt hear traffic at all so no worries. We did hear the train whistle a few times but it didn't bother me or keep me up (with the bed being so comfy who cares!) The owner of the inn owns the whole historic city block so it's nice and quite in the area. A really lovely treat, we'd love to come back and spend a week and explore the area. And what a deal, the cottage was 300, and had 3 bedrooms. Split it 3 ways, and add in breakfast and it's a steal!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyTravels30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a delightful surprise this Inn was--a true Mobile treasure. If we hadn't known, we'd have thought we were in New Orleans with the architecture and old world ambiance. The hotel manager and the owner were always hospitable and freindly, as were all the staff. Our room, although in a newer addition, still conveyed the period charm of the mansion itself. And the breakfasts are not to be missed! The food was wonderful, and we soon forgot our pre-Mobile plan of getting an early start each morning and eating breakfast on the road! All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and won't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
443 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Conde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Conde Inn

Property: Fort Conde Inn
Address: 165 Saint Emanuel St, Mobile, AL 36602-3006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Conde Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Conde Inn, Alabama's only 4-star, AAA four diamond rated boutique hotel and bed and breakfast, is a luxurious facility exuding the style and feel of nineteenth century Mobile. Requiring two years of meticulous workmanship, the Inn has now been restored to its original Victorian splendor. Built in 1836, the Fort Conde Inn (Hall-Ford House) is Mobile’s second oldest house and its interior and exterior finishes reflect its architectural vintage from original heart pine flooring and custom-milled stairways, moldings, and window and door trim to marble fireplace mantles, plaster walls, 12 foot ceilings and crystal chandeliers. The Fort Conde Inn, located in Mobile's historic Fort Conde Village, has recently expanded to include four newly restored hisorically certified homes: The Antunez House, the Spear-Barter House, as well as the Blakely and Gonzalez cottages. Walking into the Inn today, is like taking a step back in time to when these homes were originally built. The Inn sits on a quiet street in Fort Conde Village surrounded by Victorian homes restored with integrity and respect for their architectural heritage. It is situated adjacent to Fort Conde, a pre-revolutionary war fort built by the French in 1720 and named after the Prince of Conde, a grandson of Luis XIV. Mobile was founded by the French and the fort protected Mobile from incursions by the British. In recognition of the French heritage of this land, the rooms at the Inn have been named in French after friends and family members of the owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Fort Conde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing