We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in town!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterranean Sandwich Co.

Mediterranean Sandwich Co.
Ranked #6 of 661 Restaurants in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Mediterranean-Sandwich-Co/296966401183?v=wall
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
“The best in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Gyros are delish and the Jasmine rice is to die for as well as the Baklava! Excellent service and very nice people working here! Also the location on Schillinger Road is excellent too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rocky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    69
    8
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The gyros are very good. Service is also good. A variety of Mediterranean dishes served. Convenient to downtown area. Parking may be tricky.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LappingtheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great things come in small packages....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant is always a surprise. From the looks and feel of "mom and pop" your taste buds will thank you for waiting in line for there sandwiches. The mixed grill sandwich will WOW you. It's amazing what can happen when the owner pays attention to the details; fresh ingredients, no frozen meats, etc. Staff was cordial but busy and the place is becoming a local "go to" place. Had food from here 2 out of 3 days that I was working in downtown Mobile.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaScamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality food in the heart of Mobile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stopped off in Mobile on the way back from Destin to attend a concert. We were looking for somewhere different to eat and also within walking distance from our hotel. I had read the reviews on this restaurant when I arrived at the hotel and was intrigued. My wife loves Mediterranean food, but I often tend to go down another boring path. I'm glad we chose this place. It is a hole in the wall, but don't let that fool you. I ordered their award winning sandwich which contains chicken and lamb and my wife just went with the chicken. Both sandwiches were very tasty. I have often avoided lamb simply because it was lamb, but the meat did not have a strong lamb or gamey taste. I would highly recommend this establishment simply because of the different cuisine offered and the fact that it was delicious. Skip the sports bar and the expensive steak place, head over to Mediterranean Sandwich and enjoy an affordable unique meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cardsfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just plain awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was in Mobile for the Senior Bowl this week and saw that the Mediterranean Sandwich Co. was ranked #1, so I had to give it a shot. I was not disappointed. I had the mixed grill which had lamb and chicken with a sweet onion marmalade that made the sandwich. Good bread, lots of meat cooked to perfection, and a wonderful, helpful staff. Can't wait to come back next year!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mkings12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterranean Sandwich Co. also viewed

 

Been to Mediterranean Sandwich Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing