We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel But Careful About Restaurant Guidance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2009

First, this is an excellent hotel on the edge of downtown nightlife in Mobile. Neck and neck with the Renaissance Riverview Plaza across the street. Room was perfect in every way and the customer service is uniformly excellent.

Here's the problem. While standing at check-in, I heard them pushing a restaurant (The Royal Scam) that is right next door. It sounded like the fast-food cashiers who hard-sell you on the biggie fries. When I stepped up, I got the same treatment. Now, I've been to the Hurricane Brewery a few blocks away and found their food to be excellent, so I asked them if that place was good too. One of them said the food wasn't good and that I'd be much happier with their recommendation.

So I go up to the room and, what do you know, there's the recommended restaurant right there in the guidebook. The HI doesn't have it's own restaurant so I assumed they struck a deal in lieu of their own room service as that restaurant delivers with a $3 fee and an 18% tip (just like a hotel room service, huh). When I went down to the lobby again I asked them if they had any financial relationship with that restaurant. Three of them stood there and said "no."

So I went to Hurricane...especially since their recommendation was fine-dining and I had the usual fantastic food.

I have no problem with a hotelier pushing another vendor, but it's not a good thing to bad-mouth other local businesses in the process. If they fix that...they get five stars from me.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
Thank mandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

968 - 974 of 987 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2009

The Hampton Inn Downtown Mobile is an excellent value and we would highly recommend it. WiFi and a hot breakfast are included. The only additional charge was for parking - $6 per day, but worth it. Very convenient location. The pool, though small, was wonderfully refreshing after a day of sight-seeing. The exercise room was also well appointed with built-in TV's on the cardio equipment. We had a room with a king-sized bed and found it very roomy and comfortable. It was very nice to have our own microwave and refrigerator to use as well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_JoTallahassee_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This new hotel is much more than a typical formulaic Hampton Inn. The decor is beautiful, to rival the Battlehouse Marriott one block down the street. We stayed in room 629 which is a huge, corner suite. It had two queen beds that were very comfortable, a couch and side chair. Had a really nice wet bar with sink, fridge, microwave and mini-coffee maker and granite counter. This would be an incredible room to use for the parades. The corner balcony faces Government on one side and Royal on the other. Slight views of the sun glistening on the bay are possible too. whistles in the early evening. It was fun to listen to outside and you could not hear them inside with the door shut. Very quiet room. The trains were blowing The breakfast is weak, but free. The breakfast area is very nice. We stayed on a Saturday night and used on-site self-parking for $6. Plan to use their parking if you get in during "club hours" as the downtown is really lively with people going to bars and dinner. On-street parking can be hard to find. I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gamecock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed here for two nights during a road trip around the South East, with our four kids, aged 6, 8, 14, 17. We had booked two rooms and upon arrival had rooms on different floors, however as soon as the staff saw our situation they changed our rooms giving us a suite with balcony and ajoining room at the front of the property, both rooms were large and the six of us were very comfortable. The hotel was much nicer than your average roadside Hampton and immaculate. Small but very nice outdoor pool, typical Hampton breakfast but in nice dining area and the staff were fantastic. Our eight year old son Ethan highly recommends this hotel and so do we.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScouseWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

My husband and inlaws stayed here prior to boarding the cruise ship. I bought the package that allowed you to park the vehicle at the hotel while cruising. This was an excellent value as parking is $15/day at the cruise terminal. The walk from the hotel was short and easily manuvered. The rooms were spacious. Our room was upgraded upon arrival since four adults were sharing one room. The breakfast that Hampton provides in the morning is superior to those offered at most other hotels. I especially reommend this hotel for those cruising out of Mobile.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jlcarter1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Great expierence. From check in to check out. Large rooms, decent breakfast with hot items(included), great location, free internet and on site laundry.

Would definatey stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsandoval562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I've stayed in every downtown Mobile hotel except the Ramada before settling on the Hampton Inn for my regular business trips. The only downside is that the fitness center can not compare to the Mariott Waterside (the Hampton only has a rack of dumbells, and a few cardio machines), and the lack of a bar or restaurant. However, I find the rooms more comfortable in the Hampton Inn. The standard rooms have LCD TVs with your standard cable line-up (no pay per view), and the furnishings are all new (Hotel opened the last week of 2008. The bathroom offers a walk-in shower vice tub. Other rooms offer a balcony overlooking the Mardi Gras parade route. A decent breakfast is included (stay away from the hot food items) and parking is $6.00/day in an adjacent surface lot or, it's free on the street 6PM to 8AM.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtjeffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.1 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#6 of 64 in Mobile
455 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#5 of 64 in Mobile
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Address: 62 S Royal St, Mobile, AL 36602-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#1 Business Hotel in Mobile
#2 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range: $110 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Mobile, Alabama. Located within walking distance of all attractions and restaurants in downtown Mobile. Only 1/2 mile from the Mobile Cruise Terminal and located directly on the parade route for Mardi Gras! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mobile/Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown Hotel Mobile
Hampton Inn Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing