We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Clean & Spacious Suites but $9/day parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed in double Queen room adjoined with Double Queen Suite with 7 adults + 1 baby. Spacious with nice balcony access in the suite. The breakfast selection was very good. Oatmeal just right. Fresh Fruit, Yogurts & a featured pastry in addition to traditional breakfast breads. (Loved the beignets) Would stay here again despite the parking fee. We were in town for a family emergency & the desk clerk waived our parking fee for one day. Quality customer service! Loved the fact that they had 6 am - 10 am breakfast daily to accommodate early & late risers. Restaurants, shops all in walking distance. Excellent Security.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaRoadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnMobile, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites in beautiful Downtown Mobile, Alabama. I was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the customization of our hotel to the downtown area. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the eggs during our complimentary breakfast. However, I feel certain that you found other healthy choices for breakfast on that particular day. Hampton is constantly striving to improve the products and services that we deliver to our guests which is why we do rotate the various types of eggs that are served each day. Our guests will often find a western omelet or a cheese omelet as well as the scrambled eggs you mentioned, depending on which day of the week they are enjoying breakfast at the hotel. I look forward to having you as our guest again in the future, and thank you for being a loyal Hampton customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 984 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Convenient location - a few blocks form the Federal Building. Nice setup - comfy rooms, clean modern. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is typical Hampton Inn. WOuld definitely stay here again when in Mobile. I have stayed out near the airport and find this to be a better location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InterntlTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnMobile, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Our team at the Hampton Inn & Suites/Downtown Mobile enjoyed reading your review of our property. We take pride in our rooms and the service that we provide and we are so glad that you found our property to be comfortable and in the perfect location! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hampton Inn & Suites has become our favorite chain. Good beds, clean rooms, quiet atmosphere. We like the breakfasts, as well - except for the eggs. For some reason, Hilton thinks no one will notice powdered eggs. Whether they are omelets or scrambled, they are dreadful. Our other complaint was that the pull out sofa bed was pretty bad. Otherwise, the place was nice.
This hotel was typical of Hampton Inns in most ways, and better in some. It is not the prefab, generic hotel that can be found in any suburban area along a freeway. This one is an old hotel that has been redone. It therefore has a few nice touches, like the old lobby, balconies, and unusual room configurations. The parking was extra, too ($9), but not bad compared to other downtown hotels. Overall, a good place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is amazing, from the moment you walk in the door. Lindsey at the front desk was most accommodating, and went out of her way to be sure that we had everything that we needed. The breakfast buffet is great, and the location is perfect for sight seeing in the downtown Mobile area. Well appointed rooms, and fully stocked. I will definitely stay at this location again, and suggest it to everyone else as well. Thanks to the staff at this hotel for your attention. You are what makes it a great place!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bosscosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnMobile, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites/Downtown Mobile. We love to hear feedback from our guests, especially when they wish to recognize one of our Hampton Team Members. We will be sure to share your comments with Linesay as soon as we see her. We hope to see you on your next visit to Mobile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently spent several nights here while on a business trip to Mobile. I wasn't expecting anything special, but I actually found this hotel to be delightful. My room was surprisingly comfortable; the entire hotel was spotless; the staff was friendly and helpful. And it's in a fabulous location - right downtown, but a block away from the "noisy" street. There are a couple of bars/restaurants next door, and dozens of other restaurants within several blocks. The hotel has a private parking lot, which was also a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YetAnotherViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMcMitchell, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your Great Review detailing everything that stood out to you about our hotel and what Mobile , has to offer in our downtown area. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our city and hope your Review will help others find their way to Mobile, & our Hampton !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had a great stay at this hotel. It is within walking distance from everything in downtown Mobile. There is a fun little bar next door if you want to get out for the night. They do charge for parking but it is very reasonable for a in town location. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnchormanBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMcMitchell, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel while staying with us in Oct. We so enjoyed reading the part that You will return. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stopped over in Mobile for a couple of days whilst driving from Florida to New Orleans and chose the Hampton Inn Downtown because of the excellent reviews in Tripadvisor!

The Hotel is brilliantly situated for those wanting a downtown location, with excellent restaurants close by, secure off-street parking and ready access to all of the major highways. It is a very clean and well-run hotel and we were also fortunate to obtain an upgrade to a very nice suite.

There are many interesting attractions and eateries in the surrounding area, however, from a tourist's standpoint we were very suprised by the run-down nature of the historic district which is well past its use-by date. Those local businesses that were still operational were doing a good job waving the flag but times are clearly tough in that part of town.

If you are looking to break your journey this is the spot.

Room Tip: Some of the upper rooms have nice balconies but the whole hotel is good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.1 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
453 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#5 of 64 in Mobile
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Address: 62 S Royal St, Mobile, AL 36602-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mobile
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#2 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range: $109 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Mobile, Alabama. Located within walking distance of all attractions and restaurants in downtown Mobile. Only 1/2 mile from the Mobile Cruise Terminal and located directly on the parade route for Mardi Gras! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mobile/Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown Hotel Mobile
Hampton Inn Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing