We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The personnel were outstanding. Loved the downtown location. The room was spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony -- there aren't many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suburban-countess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelfC, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We love hearing such positive reviews, but we love even more knowing that you enjoyed your stay. The balcony rooms are the most popular and do go quickly, especially due to our great downtown location. Glad to hear that you got one! Come back and see us during one of our great downtown events like Mardi Gras and we will try and get you one then too!

Sincerely,
Christy Self
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    178
    24
    15
    7
See reviews for
306
213
34
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Easy entry and exit with a quiet room to sleep in...all that I need.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olemcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Great Hampton Inn good location downtown. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funguy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelfC, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and for your recommendation! Word of mouth is the best form of flattery and the greatest form of advertising for us! We love knowing that you left here so satisfied. Please come back and see us again soon- we would love to have you.

Sales Manager,
Christy Self
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have stayed here several times when visiting Mobile and although we often stay at Hampton Inns in our travels, this one is definitely one of the best. The staff is always very helpful and accommodating, very comfortable clean rooms and a nice breakfast and overall atmosphere. We'd be glad to stay here every time we're in the city!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelfC, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
It means so much that you consider us one of the best! We try our hardest to be the best hotel that we can be, so we love hearing positive feedback that lets us know that our hard work is paying off! Thank you for always choosing us on your visits to Mobile. We love having you here!

Sincerely,
Christy Self
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

It's been a few years since my last visit to downtown Mobile and was prompted to stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites. On my previous visits, I had stayed at the aging Admiral Semmes Hotel. I admit that I have a soft spot for the historic and thoroughly enjoy the architecture. However, I've stayed at other Hampton Inn hotels and do enjoy the more modern amenities. This hotel is only about 3 years old and was very comfortable. The rooms were spacious and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The Maintenance Mgr Chris even went out of his way to provide me with a "Historic District Walking Tour" guide when I had mentioned in passing that I enjoy the old architecture of the city. I would strongly recommend staying here and will stay here again when I come to visit downtown Mobile.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrluthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is very new and is well maintained. The rooms are a good size and the conference rooms are nice, if on the smaller size.

Overall a good hotel, the parking charge is a pain but that's what you get with most downtown hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dctdye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Great suite, perfect for a family of four (kids could sleep in the bedroom while we relaxed in the lounge area of the suite). They had a great choice at breakfast, decent quality, and complimentary fruit, drinks and cookies all day. All round excellent value.

Room Tip: Rooms looking West overlook the car park rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelfC, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay! We hope you took advantage of all of the great family friendly activities that our city has to offer and you come back and visit again real soon! Hope you have a wonderful holiday season!

Sincerely,
Christy Self
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.1 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
440 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#4 of 64 in Mobile
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Address: 62 S Royal St, Mobile, AL 36602-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#1 Business Hotel in Mobile
#2 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Mobile, Alabama. Located within walking distance of all attractions and restaurants in downtown Mobile. Only 1/2 mile from the Mobile Cruise Terminal and located directly on the parade route for Mardi Gras! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mobile/Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown Hotel Mobile
Hampton Inn Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing