We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great historic place near Dauphine St”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malaga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malaga Inn
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great historic place near Dauphine St”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed for one night on a road trip through the gulf coast. In a great historic area right off government st as well as a short walk to all the restaurants, bars, and shopping on Dauphine st. Room was awesome with 4 post beds and a balcony. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    98
    21
    24
    18
See reviews for
75
162
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My friend and I doing a road trip, came across 'Malaga Inn' in Mobile AL. An extremely friendly and accommodating welcome - a very pretty, clean and charming hotel. Music playing in the courtyard, reasonable rates. I wanted to write a review for other people visiting Mobile or passing through to say how much I would recommend it - and we have visited many towns and cities and had both good and bad experiences!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canmore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

9 hotels in 12 nights and this was the final one, what a treat! The staff was friendly, helpful and entertaining. We were offered two different rooms and were given keys to go check each of them out. The first was in the main original building and was huge and the second faced into the courtyard. We chose the second to have the rocking chairs on the balcony since we were only there one night but might have chosen the first if we had been staying longer for a little more privacy. The room was large and clean with nice linens. The t.v. was very small but we weren't there to watch t.v.

This type of historic building is exactly what we look for on holiday. We were not disappointed. Great suggestions for dinner and walking directions for town. We would definitely recommend this to others who enjoy the same surroundings. The only disappointment was the breakfast, while it was served in an historic section of the building it was weak at best. Of all the places we stayed it was by far the most disappointing when it came to breakfast. If they could figure this out they'd have had 5 stars!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canmorebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagainn, Inn Keeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We really appreciate our guests taking the time to give us feedback and I am glad that we were that last hotel to top off what sounds like a great vacation! I think that you are right about our breakfast it needs improvements. We have been discussing adding hot grits and oatmeal. I think this would be a big improvement. What do you think? Please feel free to call me on my cell 251-533-6761 if you have any other suggestions. We hope you will return to the Malaga and hopefully next time we will have the perfect breakfast for you. Please check our specials page on our web site for information about packages that we update throughout the year.
Kind Regards
Jordan Beem
Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raritan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Malaga Inn is one of the oldest boutique hotels in Mobile and is located in one of the historical districts. The location is easy to find and centrally located both to historical areas and the downtown area.
The staff is extremely welcoming and friendly. They do everything to make you feel at home.
Vonny the evening manager was extremely helpful in making sure we got the "Mobile Experience". She suggested just the right places to visit and which restaurants would reflect the character of the city and region. Mobile has a lot of great local restaurants and great places to sit outside and enjoy the local scene.
The day manager , Chris was always very friendly and extremely helpful in suggesting place to visit.

I noticed in other reviews that people were not pleased with the breakfast provided, I don't know why. There were waffles, English muffins, toast, bagels, cereal ,fresh fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee available. What's to complain about?

The Malaga Inn is an old hotel ,don't expect rows of cookie cutter ultra modern trendy rooms. The rooms surround an open air interior courtyard with beautiful plantings and a fountain. All of the rooms are furnished differently in historic style. Yes, the bathrooms are dated and old fashioned, maybe the sink drips a little, kind of like visiting Grandma. The beds are very comfortable (four beds used in two rooms). The Malaga Inn may be a little old but, is very clean and hospitable.

We would recommend this Hotel as the quiet, quaint, friendly
place to stay in Mobile.

Great places to eat in Mobile area are; 'The Kitchen on George', located in "The Oakleigh Garden District", 'The Original Oyster House', and 'Felix's Fish Camp' on Battleship Parkway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagainn, Inn Keeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Vonnie and Chris are both wonderful front desk staff and are thrilled to hear such positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed Vonnie's recommendations for the "real Mobile Experience". Thank you for addressing the breakfast. Some people find it ample while some people expect more. We have been discussing ways on how to improve on it. We are so pleased when someone recognizes the unique quality in a property like ours. Not everyone does. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Jordan Beem
Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Malaga with friends for Bayfest. The staff could not havee been friendlier or more attentive. There was a problem with our reservation and they bent over backwards to correct the problem. The courtyard is a wonderful place to lounge and enjoy coffee or a beverage. We did not book a room here thinking we would be staying at the Crown Plaza as it looks like one reviewer did. I can say that of the two rooms we had there was no mold. They were very clean and extremely comfortable. The convience to all of the resturants and night life in Mobile makes it a perfect weekend getaway. The hotel is a historic inn, not brand new and modern. If that is what you want, stay at the Hampton. If you want a true feel for what Mobile is, and a truly memorable hotel experience do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyandMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Malaga Inn in Mobile for the first time. The hotel and grounds are absolutely beautiful. The owners and staff are very friendly. It has the look and feel of New Orleans, with the hospitality of the Old South. Since our overnight stay there, we have also been back twice for their weekly "music in the courtyard" event, which is open to guests and the public. The owners and staff remembered us from our first visit. We have already made reservations to stay there two weekends next year for big events in Mobile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

An unique setting with a stunishing building and a marvelous atmosphere from a past time. Overall a very beautiful place, but not manteined as it should be. Taking it at count that restoring a place like that is not easy. The furniture it was quite outworn, the people of the front desk was strange to say the least, poor breakfast. Very nice swimming pool area, very kind maintenance guy and, by the time we were there, there was a music night show - that was very nice. It´s well worth it for the experience of being in a true historic place, better than any chain hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagainn, Inn Keeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. You are right. Restoring an old building like that does take a lot of work. That is why we value the feedback from our guests so greatly, so we know what needs to be improved upon. We are sorry about the breakfast. We are trying to improve on this and if you have any suggestions we would love to hear them. Tony, our maintenance guy, is thrilled that you mentioned him in your review. We are so glad you were able to attend our weekly music series. It is a new project for us and so far we have nothing but positive feedback. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Mobile.
Sincerely,
Jordan
Beem
Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#5 of 64 in Mobile
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Inn

Property: Malaga Inn
Address: 359 Church St., Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#7 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malaga Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Malaga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Hotel Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing