We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Ingram, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service and stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the Renaissance Riverview Plaza in Mobile on my way to Florida in August. Very nice hotel, comfortable room and excellent service. Everyone from the parking valet to check-in to room service was polite and so helpful. My room was clean, the bed comfortable and my room service meals were very good. I even had a view of the bay. I thought the room rate was very reasonable for the quality of the hotel, too. The elevators did entail a short wait at times. Seemed slow or possibly not all were running. I didn't have time to explore the area because I arrived after dark and had to get on the road early the next morning, but this hotel is across the street from the convention center so I am sure there is plenty nearby. If I'm back in Mobile, I will definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We will be sure to share them with all of our ambassadors here at the hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear about the positive experiences our guests encounter while staying with us. We look forward to having you back as our guests should your travels bring you back to the Mobile area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    147
    56
    30
    16
See reviews for
102
117
19
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The service of this location is superior. However, the little problems I experienced were annoying. On more than one occasion, my key card did not work and I had to go to reception on two occasions to have the key card reset. The wifi is confusing as there are TWO possibilities.. Riverview and Cityview. Who knew I was at Riverview, when my view was of the City.. It took some time to discover I was using the wrong wifi... the sink in my room, like almost all sinks in high-rise hotels was slow to drain. I ordered room service and I expected to pay a fee for the food, however I do expect that for 19 bucks for a cheese burger that it would have been a better quality than the frozen patty and juice soaked bun that was not edible. The valet service has a nice team of young people that were friendly and eager to help.

Room Tip: Across the street was a Hampton inn.. The rooms had balcony.. next time.. I will go for the room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you found our service levels to be superior. Providing great customer service is our primary goal and it is always great to hear ones positive experience(s). In regards to the challenges you faced, please know that this information will be sent to the appropriate department heads. Your input will be used to enhance the overall operation of our property. Our IT manager has already diagnosed a recent issue with our key system and we believe the issues we were experiencing have been eliminated. We hope you will choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Mobile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Two night stay over Labor Day weekend. Terrific view from our corner king suite on a top floor. Rooms are well equipped and decorated with modern touches. The lobby of this place is under construction - a very minor inconvenience as we had no need to linger there. Concierge Club room served up a great breakfast - eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, toast, and the most beautiful huge bowl of berries (raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, strawberries). What set this place apart from other renaissance hotels was the staff. From the ultra friendly Check-in to the Valet Parker that welcomed us back by name when we returned after a few hours out, there seems to be a real focus on customer service here. For the price - this place can't be beat.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IDM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during the Labor Day weekend. I am delighted to hear about how great your stay was with us. Please know that your positive feedback will be shared with everyone here at the hotel, specifically your comments on your guest room view, Concierge experience and the overall service you encountered. Your time and feedback are very important to us. We hope to see you back in the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on August 20th for business and when we arrived we were greeted by a very kind gentleman at the check in desk. I hate I did not get his name but he was a white gentleman with glasses maybe in his 30's. He had impeccable customer service and upon checkout he informed us the previous day we had paid $20 too much. We were very appreciative of his honesty in giving us our extra $20 back. His honesty and excellent customer service went above and beyond the call of duty. As for the hotel it was our first visit here and we hope to return again whether for business or leisure. The amenities are some of the finest in Alabama. We also enjoyed an EXCELLENT lunch at The Harbor Room. Beautiful views and wonderful food!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acenjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your most recent stay. I am delighted to hear about the exceptional service you received while you were a guest. Please be assured that your positive remarks will be shared with the appropriate individuals. We hope that you elect to stay with us again in the future should your travels bring you back to Mobile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel the valet and staff was kind and polite.The property was having a little renovation going on but in all this hotel was still beautiful and clean. I was only there for one night and I have no complaints at all. Great Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larue92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the construction taking place did not deter you from enjoying your stay. Please know that your comments will be shared with the entire hotel team. We hope to see you back at our property in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The overall experience was very good. Nice rooms, charming staff and close to bars and restaurants. The rooms were clean and had a fantastic view over the river. Comfortable and friendly bar near the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments in regards to your recent stay. It is always delightful to hear about the positive experiences our guests encounter. We will be sure to share your feedback with the entire hotel team and we hope to see you back at our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night during our drive along the Gulf coast. We arrived late and didn't really wanna go chasing any place to eat so we choose the restaurant in the hotel, one thing we did not regret. We were all alone and got full attention from a very nice servant. He knew a lot about wines and ran around looking for a wine that would suit our meals best. The one we finally choose we're sold out so he offered us a more expensive one for the same price.
The room was really big and the bed enormous! We could have stayed forever!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your kind words are greatly appreciated, in particular the positive feedback regarding your restaurant experience. We truly pride ourselves on delivering a great experience to all of our hotel guests. We hope to see you back at the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#6 of 64 in Mobile
443 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#4 of 64 in Mobile
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Address: 64 S Water St, Mobile, AL 36602-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#8 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on an amazing journey at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, the premier hotel of all places to stay in Mobile, AL. Our Downtown Mobile hotel's location is conveniently connected by skywalk to the Arthur R. Outlaw Convention Center and located in the revitalized Downtown business and entertainment districts. Rising majestically over the sparkling waters of Mobile Bay, guests can enjoy Southern charm effortlessly blended with modern ingenuity. Play a round of championship golf along the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, which is situated near our trendy hotel or hold you meetings in our more than 44,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, which provides the perfect location for successful business engagements and flawless social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing