We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel was very modern and chic. The decor was very fitting for an upscale hotel. I was greeted by a friendly staff and they were very helpful. The view from my room was great. I was on the 9th floor. The rooms were clean and offered plenty of extra towels and pillows. My only issue is that you had to pay to park but that is typical of downtown locations. I would stay at this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LStravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us here at the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza hotel. The views of Mobile Bay are breathtaking from our Bay View rooms, especially during sunrise and sunset. Please know that your comments will be shared internally with our team. We hope that you elect to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Mobile. Again many thanks for your time and input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 509 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was very, very, very disappointed in this hotel. It had 4 elevators and only 2 worked. Bugs. The happy hour. What happy hour? No signature drinks. The hotel had a convention going on so it was a busy place. Check-In was easy the Riverview room was perfect (thanks to Melanie Tate, great customer service). It was just everything else. The Montgomery Renaissance has really spoiled me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DatDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that we did not overdeliver while you were a guest with us. Please know that your feedback will be shared with the appropriate individuals so follow up can occur. In regards to Happy Hour, the hotel does offer a Happy Hour from 5pm to 7pm Monday - Friday. Although our signature drinks are not included on hour Happy Hour menu, we do have a nice selection to choose from on our Fathoms Lounge menu. I apologize if this was not shared with you and this will be part of our internal follow up. I also wanted to thank you for sharing your nice comments about Melissa. She is a great asset to our hotel and we are fortunate to have her on our team. We do hope that you will elect to stay with us again in the future. Again many thanks for your time and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my annual OES/Masonic Session from June 25 - June 30th. I was pleased with the hotel staff upon entering. They handled our party of 11 coming in at 2 a.m. with ease. My room looked nice upon entering, I had a city view. Not bad, but an ocean view would've been better. Mobile's city view isn't all that. The closet was spacious and the bathroom was clean. The beds were heavenly. Yes, they had the heavenly bed going on from the pillows to the mattress. I slept very well. However, during my stay I begin to notice things. The table by the bed, which held the clock, phone and lamp was dusty dusty (yuck). When the sun hit it, it looked like it had not been dusted in ages. They didn't vaccum the floor while I was there. They didn't change the sheets during my stay. I understand the "Save the Environment" but, come on. I had to request that amenity. However, when asked it did happen and quickly. A couple of members in my party of 11 noticed that there rooms had not been properly cleaned before arriving. They noticed clothes left behind from other guest under their bed and in the drawers. The food in the hotel was pretty good. The Garlic parmesan chips for 99cents were great. You have to order them at the bar. The air condition was always booming. (That was a plus.) Oh! Our session was 600 plus people, yes that's a lot. But, we had a difficult time with the elevators being broken and lots of time wasted while waiting on an elevator. Some people took to the stairs. Overall it was an okay hotel. But, I could've stayed across the street at the Hampton Inn and got Free breakfast. I love Hampton Inns.

Room Tip: Choose a ocean view. Water is always soothing to look at. The city view was weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinOESDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza hotel. I am delighted to hear that your arrival process was smooth and enjoyable. I am also glad to hear that you were able to sleep well while staying with us. In reading your review, I was disappointed to see that your stayover cleaning process was not executed properly. Please know that your feedback is being used with our Housekeeping team to make sure we learn from our shortfalls. Our ambassadors enjoyed having your group in house last month and we appreciate the time you took to tell us about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very clean and comfortable hotel. View from the window was beautiful and service was great. Only downside was a very small bathroom. Great access to the convention center where we were attending and event and to the downtown area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretsewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments regarding our hotels cleanliness, great views and great location will be shared with our entire hotel team. Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We hope you elect to stay with us again should you ever come back to the greater Mobile area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is across from the convention center and is near the water. Spacious rooms and very clean. Staff is friendly and accommodating. The concierge lounge was nice and had a good selection of food and beverage. The gym was very good.. Lots of equipment all in good condition. It's in a great location to hit the bars and stores on Dauphin street.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us at the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel along with all of the wonderful amenities we have to offer. We pride ourselves on our first class product and great customer service atmosphere. We hope to see you back at our property should your travels ever bring you back to the Mobile area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Room was wonderful, view was spectacular and everything was immaculate. From my arrival to departure no detail was forgotten. Got a kick from the Moon Pie left on my pillow each morning! There was a very nice guitar player in the lounge every evening. A nice way to relax with a glas of wine before bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if the river and a floor above 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patgal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. Our hotel team is excited to hear that you enjoyed your guest room along with the view. We strive to deliver a great arrival and departure experience to all of our hotel guests and it appears we were able to do just that. Just a small tidbit of information for you. The moonpie you received during turndown is a Mobile tradition that dates back to the 1970s. The moonpie became a popular throw during Mardi Gras parades because too many people were getting hurt by boxes of Cracker Jacks. Our gift shop carries Moon Pie products year round for our visitors to purchase and enjoy. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very nice hotel for the Mobile, Al area. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was a bit more dusty than I would like and the wireless seemed slow however the Mobile Bay view from the 27th floor was awesome. I've stayed at both this one and the battle house down the street and fine the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel the better between the two.

Room Tip: The restaurant is a bit pricy however there are plenty of local food joints within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowspd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am disappointed to hear that you found your room to be a bit dusty and your internet connection to be a bit slow. This information will be passed along and researched by the correct individuals. We hope you elect to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
476 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#8 of 64 in Mobile
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel

Address: 64 S Water St, Mobile, AL 36602-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#8 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range: $135 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on an amazing journey at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, the premier hotel of all places to stay in Mobile, AL. Our Downtown Mobile hotel's location is conveniently connected by skywalk to the Arthur R. Outlaw Convention Center and located in the revitalized Downtown business and entertainment districts. Rising majestically over the sparkling waters of Mobile Bay, guests can enjoy Southern charm effortlessly blended with modern ingenuity. Play a round of championship golf along the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, which is situated near our trendy hotel or hold you meetings in our more than 44,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, which provides the perfect location for successful business engagements and flawless social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing