We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained and conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Well maintained and conveniently located”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Renaissance Riverview is connected to the convention center by a skybridge, close to the cruise port and only a few blocks from the the main drag, Dauphin St. The rooms are nice size with a desk, lots of electrical outlet access, large flat screen TV, large closet and complimentary robes. The bathroom is smaller than expected, but well appointed. The water temp in the shower fluctuated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that the location of our hotel was convenient for you and that your guest room was well appointed. I have informed my engineering department of the inconsistencies you experienced with your hot water so we can research and get this corrected. We hope you stay with us again should you come back to the Mobile area. Your business is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    147
    56
    30
    16
See reviews for
102
117
19
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

You get all the amenities you would expect at an upper-tier hotel. I have now stayed here twice and the rooms are impecible and have everything you would want including coffee, fridge and nicely appointed bathroom. The housekeeping staff does a great job of maintaining the rooms. Try to get an upper floor room overlooking the bay or river so you can see the ships come in and even watch ships being built. You are within walking distance to many great restaurants and the downtown historic Madi Gras District. With all of this being said, the thing that give this a 5 is the great staff. They are polite, courteous and professional.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwdragon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your guest room and that our staff provided impeccable customer service. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. Our customer service oriented team is what seperates us from the competition. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please be sure to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The staff are excellent. Used the valet parking and the car was always ready as promised and staff was courteous and very helpful. Front desk staff were also exceptional.

I found the room to be very comfortable - especially the bed. I like the full size windows that overlook the City - very nice view.

I had a breakfast buffet and found the food to be good.

The room has free wi-fi and the tv had the option to watch a variety of movies, including movies still in theaters.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay. Your positive feedback on our service levels, guest room experience and food and beverage experience will be shared with our team. We hope you will elect to stay with us again in the future should you come back to the Mobile area. Many thanks for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Checked in late on a business trip...VERY nice welcome at the desk with explanations of the dining room and all of the services.

Not too back of a price at $169 but had $24 just in Local Room Tax....little high.

Great location if you have business in the immediate area.

Self parking in the garage was a nightmare on a cold and rainy night. Parked on second level but had to go out into the weather to the main desk...not well planned.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms away from noisy elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soddycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for providing us feedback from your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that the Front Office team provided you a warm welcome upon arrival and we are also glad to hear that the location of our hotel was convenient for you. In regards to the parking garage, we hope to one day install better signage that can help hotel guests navigate around more efficiently. There are two entrances into the hotel from the garage that prevent guests from getting wet during bad weather. For those not familiar with the garage, these entrances can be challenging to locate. Your time and feedback are again appreciated and we will be sure to share your comments with the team. We hope to see you back at the Riverview again should your travels bring you back to Mobile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance of all the community center, imax theater, resturants, parks, shops, and nightlfe. The hotel staff was extremely curtious and the rooms were modern, well equipped and clean. Checking in and out of the hotel was very easy and parking was great.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that our location was convenient for you. We are fortunate to be within walking distance of downtown museums, restaurants and other city attractions. Your positive comments on our team and guest rooms is greatly appreciated and will be shared. We hope to see you back at our hotel the next time your travels bring you to Mobile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We made a pit stop here on our way home from a long stay with sick family member. it was wonderfully restful and beautiful....requested a river view and was it ever a wow factor,end of hall northeast side 18th floor...Across from hotel on south corner, fabulous cafe. Great food! Go with the valet for $5.00 more and enjoy no worry. Loved it all ......you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Higher floors and end rooms with river view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza hotel. I am delighted to hear that you were able to get some quality rest while staying with us. We do have incredible views of the Mobile River and Mobile Bay from our River View rooms. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and i will be sure to share your comments with the team. We hope you will stay with us again in the future should your travels bring you back to Mobile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Everything was great room-wise and staff were friendly so the hotel delivers a decent experience. The parking garage is VERY confusing. You can be on the garage's "third" floor but only be a few feet up from street level??? I spent 30 minutes looking for my car one time until their security guard met me at the elevator and got us to our car (which we were calling using the honking feature). If anything, there should be color coded pillars to help orient the guests, but this may be a city issue not the hotel. The banquet food was pretty bad. The london broil was very raw and thin. The mashed potatoes were cold. They needed some more wait-staff. Everyone at my table was complaining about the food at the banquet. They would do well to beef up that aspect, no pun intended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmeralda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip K, Rooms Division Manager at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and that our staff was friendly throughout your stay. At the same time we are also sorry to hear that you experienced some challenges during your stay. The garage attached to the hotel is in need of some better signage and we hope to one day have this project completed. Your comments on your banquet meal have been shared with our food and beverage team leaders so they can use your feedback to look into what happened and make the necessary changes so this does not happen again in the future. Your business is very much appeciated and we will use your input to improve the operation of our hotel. We thank you again for choosing the Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza hotel and we hope you will choose us again should you come back to the Mobile area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
443 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#4 of 64 in Mobile
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Address: 64 S Water St, Mobile, AL 36602-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#8 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on an amazing journey at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, the premier hotel of all places to stay in Mobile, AL. Our Downtown Mobile hotel's location is conveniently connected by skywalk to the Arthur R. Outlaw Convention Center and located in the revitalized Downtown business and entertainment districts. Rising majestically over the sparkling waters of Mobile Bay, guests can enjoy Southern charm effortlessly blended with modern ingenuity. Play a round of championship golf along the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, which is situated near our trendy hotel or hold you meetings in our more than 44,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, which provides the perfect location for successful business engagements and flawless social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing