We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great View.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great View.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a first class hotel. We stayed for a Navy ship reunion. Accomodations, food and service was excellent. The location is downtown on the river with numerous restaurants in walking distance. The hotel has a skywalk to the convention center and the Austal shipyard is just across the river. We got to watch the launching of the USNS Choctaw County JHSV 2 right from our hotel room and, in the distance, you can see the superstructure of the battleship USS Alabama. Southern hospitality was evident everywhere we went and if you are going to Mobile you will enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekahs1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    140
    52
    30
    16
See reviews for
96
113
18
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was there for 5 nights on business. The staff was VERY friendly and the rooms were quite adiquate. We got an UNHEARD OF $96 a night! the bar was standard and the food wasn't special but there are a number of great little places within walking distance. You can also go over to the Battlehouse Marriott and charge stuff to your room at the Riverview. The pool was substandard for a hotel of this cabiler.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on a high-floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boywhocouldfly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at the Riverview for 90 days on business and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel has great decor in the lobby, meeting areas and other public areas. The rooms are well-appointed and the beds are superb. The rooms do have complimentary Wi-Fi, a mini-refrigerator, but unfortunately, no microwave. The staff was very friendly and helpful during my entire stay. The hotel is adjacent to the convention center and is walking distance to the waterfront, IMAX Theater, museums, numerous restaurants and other places in the downtown area. They have an excellent fitness center that is adjacent to the outdoor pool.

Other than the Renaissance Battle House Hotel, this is one of my favorite hotels in downtown Mobile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level on the river side of the building. You'll enjoy watching all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A large hotel in the heart of Mobile. Very nice staff and easy check in. Room was large with HDTV and comfortable king bed. Bathroom was large and shower was well appointed although the shower curtain bar has seen better days and made it tough to keep water inside the shower.

Biggest problem was the AC. While it cooled the room it was incredibly loud unless I turned it off. Made sleeping very difficult.

All in all, not bad but could be better.

Also, it is within walking distance of many downtown restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance for a conference and really enjoyed the hotel. The staff members were all very friendly and helpful. We had a room with a view of the bay, which was nice. The room was clean and comfortable, equipped with a small refrigerator, a nice flat screen tv, two telephones, a safe, a coffee maker, a clock radio, and a dock for charging cell phones. Busy with the conference, we didn't have time to enjoy the rooftop pool or fitness center (4th floor), but those areas looked clean and inviting. We took advantage of the hotel's parking garage and never had trouble finding a convenient spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayJay72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Clean and comfortable. Nicely furnished and the rooms were large. View was nice also. The workout area had some free weights and cables. But, there is a YMCA within a few blocks. Do not get the lunch buffet. No choices and boring. For the money, find a restaurant outside of the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I had to find my own parking, then walk a mile . Had an interesting conversation with sarcastic desk clerks. They didn't have the connecting rooms I reserved but they made sure to tell me it wasn't their fault several times. Stay down the street.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingtills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#8 of 64 in Mobile
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#5 of 64 in Mobile
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Address: 64 S Water St, Mobile, AL 36602-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#8 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on an amazing journey at Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel, the premier hotel of all places to stay in Mobile, AL. Our Downtown Mobile hotel's location is conveniently connected by skywalk to the Arthur R. Outlaw Convention Center and located in the revitalized Downtown business and entertainment districts. Rising majestically over the sparkling waters of Mobile Bay, guests can enjoy Southern charm effortlessly blended with modern ingenuity. Play a round of championship golf along the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, which is situated near our trendy hotel or hold you meetings in our more than 44,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space, which provides the perfect location for successful business engagements and flawless social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing