We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”

Historic Oakleigh House
Ranked #14 of 73 things to do in Mobile
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built by Virginian cotton broker, James W. Roper in 1833, Oakleigh is a remarkable example of historic preservation, as it has been adapted and preserved by the four families who lived here. As one of the first major residences to be built outside of the city limits, historians cite Oakleigh as one of the rarest examples of Greek revival architecture in the United States. And our tour is just as distinct- come experience it today.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I love old homes and Oakleigh was no exception. What made it even more enjoyable was that our guide had a deep love for Oakleigh, and in fact all of Mobile, history. She was full of facts and interesting stories of the people and times significant to Oakleigh. What started out as a tour of a grand old house turned into an informative history lesson!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MJRinNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    25
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The house itself is interesting and is also filled with nice treasures to see. The tour guide is informative and interesting. She was able to answer all our questions. It is a one hour tour that is well worth it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank StV_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tn
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“History relived”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

House was a interesting and pleasant change from the bustle of modern life. The tour guide was pleasant and friendly. Her knowledge brought the history of the house alive. The furniture was from the period. The house gives you a glimpse into the past and way of life of the old south.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Loved the tour”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I took the tour with Lydia as our guide. The house and stories were wonderful. The home is filled with period furniture. Lydia did a great job and we had a wonderful time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historical Homes”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Definitely a must see. Especially at Christmas. Such a romantic setting. Love to visit Oakleigh House. So much history and antiques to make anyone appreciate this fine home

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank psalanon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Oakleigh House also viewed

 

Been to Historic Oakleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing