We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living History and Great Staff”

Historic Oakleigh House
Ranked #14 of 66 things to do in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built by Virginian cotton broker, James W. Roper in 1833, Oakleigh is a remarkable example of historic preservation, as it has been adapted and preserved by the four families who lived here. As one of the first major residences to be built outside of the city limits, historians cite Oakleigh as one of the rarest examples of Greek revival architecture in the United States. And our tour is just as distinct- come experience it today.
colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Living History and Great Staff”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a wonderful and unforgetable tour through this pristine mansion. The guide was very helpful, attentive, knowledgable and caring and went our of her way to make us feel like we had stepped back to the 1800's in old Mobile.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lostcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    24
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile,AL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great period house and story”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Oakleigh is the signature house in Mobile. Very attractive from the exterior and well maintained interior. The renovation of the Cook's House on the property will allow Oakleigh to tell the story of those who lived in and visited the home as guests as well as those who worked on the property. Operated by the Historic Mobile Preservation Society, it is worth a solo visit or a bus trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Mobile Must”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We could feel the presense of the antebellum residents of this plantation. So many beautiful pieces of furniture, wonderful decor and knowledgeable docents made us more than welcome.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Antebellum Charm”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Interesting antebellum home that houses important pieces of Mobile history from the 1700s to the 20th century. The tour guides really know their stuff and were able to answer questions about the French & Spanish occupations of Old Mobile as well as the traditional questions about the Civil War. Well worth the time, although very small children will not enjoy the exhibits as much as older kids and adults will.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creola, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“:)”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Oakleigh House was such a great place to tour. The Oakleigh Belles are adorable and they keep the tour interesting; The leader did a good job of teaching them to speak out and comunicate with people. They taught me alot about the house and the City of Mobile! The Oakleigh house gave you a good feel about the Historic Mobile. The Historic Mobile Preservation Society did a wonderful job of keeping up the house.I will be back very soon, cant wait to come to Christmas at Oakleigh I heard it was beautiful! Thank you so much for the wonderful time I had at Oakleigh I will be sure to tell everyone to visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Oakleigh House also viewed

 

Been to Historic Oakleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing