We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get inside a real battleship!”

Battleship USS ALABAMA
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
USS Alabama Battleship Memorial Park Admission Ticket
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Gulf Coast Ducks Triple-Splash Duck Boat Tour
Ranked #1 of 73 things to do in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At Mobile’s Battleship Memorial Park, you don’t have to look very far to find heroes. From the Battleship USS ALABAMA to the Submarine USS DRUM and over 25 aircraft, the spirit of military pride is alive and well.Aboard the battleship you will be able to explore 12 decks. Among those, you can climb inside gun turrets, get locked in the Brig, man a 12mm gun and much more.Also at the park, you will be able to go below and explore inside the oldest Submarine on display, Submarine USS DRUM. In the Medal of Honor Aircraft Pavilion as well as in the park, you will be able to view many rare and historic aircraft. A few in our collection include: A-12 Blackbird Spy Plane, OS2U Kingfisher, F-86L Sabre Jet, B-52 Bomber, just to name a few. While in the pavilion, don’t forget to take a ride on the Flight Simulator and experience flight without ever leaving the ground. It’s an unforgettable experience for the entire family. All tours are self guided. Allow approx. 2.5 hours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Pike Road, AL
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Get inside a real battleship!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We drove 3 hrs from Montgomery to spend some time at the park. Even tho the literature says you can see it all in 2 hours, it really takes longer with the crowds and if you want to read all the little plaques describing everything.

The ship has 3 self-guided tours. 2 of the inside (front and back) and a 3rd of the decks. It took us over an hour to do one inside and part of the outside. With kids, we stopped often for pictures and spent more time on some things than others.

You get a real idea of what a working battleship is like. This ship is all business! The quarters are very tight and there are no large spaces. Out on the deck is very nice, with a beautiful view of the bay and downtown Mobile.

The stairs in the battleship are narrow and a bit hard to walk down. Going up is no problem. Sometimes you have to wait while a group comes up before you can go down and vice versa.

The USS Drum was fun - it is really cramped! But to walk through a real submarine and get an idea of those conditions is special.

The airplane hangar was interesting and a unique opportunity to see many different aircraft. We aren't military buffs or very educated on the nuances of different military equipment - but were still very entertained, educated, and interested in the whole park.

The tanks are neat to see but you can't get in them or climb on them.

The gift shop is thorough but cramped. We didn't eat at the snack bar. The staff are very nice. There are many nice Gulf restaurants within a few miles - easy to get to and on the water. They were all crowded. We chose the Original Oyster House and it was perfect.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldendiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,103
    608
    84
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“very patriotic with a few issues”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

How can you not feel patriotic and a sense of gratitude to those who served on this and any other ship or in the armed forces. However i'm rating the tour, the grounds and the entry/giftshop/snack bar.
Pros: although multiple buses showed up to tour and the line wound around inside the entry building to almost capacity, the staff handled it quickly. We only waited 15 minutes for our tickets. Use your AAA card to get a couple bucks off the $13 dollar entry. Restrooms inside the ship were a welcome and unexpected available aminity. Once inside the ship you could take one of three touring paths, so not everyone was going in the same direction. It allowed you to have space and take your time at an exhibit. All exhibits were marked well with text and historic items.
Cons: not necessarily for us, but others with small kids, the elderly or if you have issues with extremely steep and narrow stairs, dont tour. You are on a ship, its just like in the movies and you will have problems navigating the tour. Fumes were fairly noticable to us while on the lower deck, not sure if they were painting or if the odor is always present. But if you have issues with breathing, you may want this info. As for the entry building, the restrooms could use a good scrubbing, I realize they get a lot of use but the walls, floors, fixtures etc were really dirty. The snack bar was nice but please dont expect anything great, the personal pizza we ordered wasnt done all the way and no one wears gloves when serving.
Overall it was a patriotic tour that you should support and not miss when in the Mobile area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cleanhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We decided to stay in Mobile on our way to Florida just to come to the battleship. It was a very good experience. The kids loved it(except it starts getting a little warm past 10:30 or so). There are lots of stairs.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So Much to See! Like a labyrinth”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went with the family and this was so fun. Like a maze, with so many halls and sections to see. I think we were here over 2 hours and no one was bored. It's a lot of walking and going up and down ladders and stairs, tho, so beware. After the battleship, there is a submarine and then a warehouse full of other military vehicles and things, but we were so tired that we sort of rushed thru those. My kids still talk about this adventure and would go back without a doubt.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank r0sie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lots of stairs”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It was interesting to tour a ship that had seen service during WW2. Preservation of these ships helps keep history alive. Be prepared for the many steep staircases by wearing a good pair of shoes, such as runners, that have a good grip. I found it easiest to descend backwards. Hold on tightly to the railings! Our experience could have been enhanced by clearer signage in the ship. The self-guide brochure listed some numbers that could not be found. It was easy to get turned around and start heading in the wrong direction. Some areas were not well lit. Information plaques were often small in size. The adult cost of admission is $15.00 each and there is a $2.00 parking fee. I think they could have spared some money to improve the signage. Also, we usually get a friendly greeting when visiting a tourist site. However, that was not our experience here. The lady selling the tickets was quite gruff and did not give us a guide. We picked one up on our own. The message was, 'you're here and now you're on your own'. The tour of the USS North Carolina in Wilmington, NC was a more rewarding experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Battleship USS ALABAMA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing